Amazon, eBooks, and the demise of Borders and bookshop culture (via MaggieCakes)

On the other hand, it’s easier to use an e-reader or download an audio book to an mp3 player. My Brother and I got our Mother a Kindle for her birthday a few years ago, back when they were still fairly expensive at $200 a pop. Our whole family is ferocious readers and a trip to the library can often see us leaving with a dozen books each. But when my Mother’s health began to fail and it became harder and harder for her to venture out, we realized we needed another way for her to get the countless mystery and romance novels she reads in a week. So, we bought her a Kindle.

The biggest shock was the price of some of the “books”. It’s just text, just data, but often enough the books bought through Amazon and other online websites were the price of what a paperback would be in real life. About $12. Not a great deal for a bunch of gigabytes. My Mother mostly sticks to the cheaper books (as cheap as $1) that are available to keep down prices. Some of them are even free. Our local library also has a system for e-readers that my Mother can get new books from. It keeps my Brother and me from worrying about whether or not she is bored. It a good solution for people who might have less mobility but it’s not fantastic either.

Amazon, eBooks, and the demise of Borders and bookshop culture The era of the big box bookstore is coming to an end and I, for one, am saddened by this.  Yes, I know they were big, bad corporate giants that came in and destroyed neighborhood bookstores and coffee shops, ending third places and stifling locally-owned businesses in many communities.  All that’s true – and awful. But at this point, the closing of your local Borders isn’t likely to mean that a locally-owned bookstore is going to spring up in its … Read More

via MaggieCakes

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

