Booking Through Thursday: Bookish Meme.

What’s the last book you were really EXCITED to read?

The last book I was really, super excited about was The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. I remember I bought the book rather than waiting for my turn on a library copy during a time when I was strapped for cash and I read it in a single night. (I gave up soda for two weeks and drank just water to pay for it.) Gaiman is my favorite author and his wit and ability to turn a phrase is so exciting and wonderful that I devour anything from him. He writes these sentences that just leap off the page and are so hilarious. I just adore the whimsical style of his writing. I still take the book down off the shelf for a nostalgic read once and a while.

And, were you excited about it in advance? Or did the excitement bloom while you were reading it?

When I heard that a new book by Neil Gaiman was coming out I was super excited. So, I was impatiently waiting for it to appear in the bookstores months before I actually got my hands on it.

Are there any books you’re excited about right NOW?

Not really. I just finished Angel in the Front Room Devil Out Back by Stanford Diehl and I cracked open The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston last night. The first turned out better than I thought it would and I’m only a few pages into the second one and the stilted writing style has thrown me for a loop. I’ll reserve judgment on The Witch’s Daughter until I’m a few more chapters in. I do have some Discword books from Terry Pratchett coming through the mail sometime soon that I’m really looking forward to.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on August 4, 2011, in book meme, fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Those books that you read in one night are awesome to find.

  2. I have yet to read a book from Terry Pratchett, but other exciting book always gets in the way:) I’ll come to those eventually. Here is my BTT.

  3. The Graveyard Book is an excellent book. Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett are beyond awesome! My favorite Terry Pratchett book would have be Small Gods, and my favorite by Gaiman would be Neverwhere .Great picks! 🙂

  4. Loved The Graveyard Book. Neil Gaiman’s books are always so unique and fun!

Leave a Reply

