Book Blogger Hop – crazy book titles & one busy weekend

Alright, it’s time once again for Crazy for BooksBook Blogger Hop! In which I choose a busy, busy weekend to join in on the fun. (Just so you know, I claim the keys to my new apartment this afternoon and are moving in on Sunday. As such, I’m going to have limited access to the internet for the next few days. So, if you leave a comment and it doesn’t appear right away, it’s because I haven’t had a chance to get back to the blog yet. Please be patient. I promise to take some time out of getting settled to read The Witch’s Daughter and post a review.) 

Our question for this week is: “Let’s talk crazy book titles! Highlight one or two (or as many as you like!) titles in your personal collection that have the most interesting titles! If you can’t find any, feel free to find one on the internet!” 

(headdesk) Yes, that would be the question right when my whole collection is packed up in boxes! Off the top of my head I can’t think of a truly odd title but I like The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. Because, the title really doesn’t lend itself to telling the reader what the book is about and if it did, well, grave robbing or zombies would have to be involved. Yes, I fail at being normal. But a title like The Graveyard Book brings up images of tombstone etchings and grey tone photography. Have we established that I am weird yet? Well, should be obvious now. 

Then a Google search popped up this blog (great blog name, by the way!) where the writer reveals some truly weird and crazy book titles. My favorites are number seven, Reusing Old Graves: A Report on Popular British Attitudes; number eleven, The Joy of Chickens; and number thirteen, How to Avoid Huge Ships. Quality titles there people.

Book Blogger Hop

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I think the funniest titled book that I ever read was “Learn Just Enough… To Get Laid”

    Its a guide book for guys that teaches them how to swoon women in order to get lucky. Its really funny 😉

    Happy Friday!!

    Hop on over to the Wastelands 😉
    http://paranormalwastelands.blogspot.com/2011/08/blog-hop-lovin_11.html

  2. Great title, Happy Friday!

  3. I easily came up with five crazy book titles just by taking a fast look at my bookshelf.

    All five come from the same book series. Can you guess which series it is?

    Here’s a hint – The book series is a trilogy in five parts.

    Hop on over to my blog for the answer – http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard A. Sherman, Implementor
    Get Inside a Story
    http://www.inthestory.com

  4. Hi! Callin in on the hop… Isn’t the Graveyard Book supposed to bring to mind the Jungle book… How to avoid huge ships is hilarious
    http://jdfield.blogspot.com/

  5. The Joy of Chickens makes me curious —- 🙂

  6. Fun titles you picked! Visiting you via Book Blogger Hop. Stop by and see what crazy title I chose.

Leave a Reply

