Book Blogger Hop – Sept. 2 – Autumn!

Once again we have come to the end of the week and that means it’s time for the Book Blogger Hop over at Crazy for Books. (I need to get off my butt and finish The Witch’s Daughter for you all. I don’t know if I’ve just been too busy or too lazy to finish it. I’m about 50 pages to the end. I hope to finish it and be well on my way through another book before the end of the long weekend.)

Our question for this week is: “What are you most looking forward to this fall/autumn season – A particular book release? Halloween? The leaves changing color? Cooler temperatures? A vacation? (If your next season is other than fall/autumn, tell us about it and what you are most looking forward to in your part of the world!)”

Ah, autumn; my favorite season. It beats out spring in my opinion. The falling temperatures mean I can open the windows in my apartment and finally get some fresh air after a long summer of running the air conditioner. The leaves begin to turn and it’s time for a trip out to the hills for pictures. It’s time for apple orchards and pumpkin patches to open to the public and hay wagon rides through the woods. Cooler weather means more hikes through the state parks and leisurely meanders along the Missouri River. There are trips out to the wineries and peaceful evenings on their patios sipping the most recent brew. Things seem less harsh in autumn; the light glowing through leaves turned gold and red and a soft sigh in the air. It’s a release of the heat of summer.

I adore autumn. The month of October holds my favorite holiday, Halloween. Samhain, as we call it, is an important holiday in the Pagan calendar and a busy social event. There are several parties, ritual gatherings, and camping trips held in October. So much so, that there is something happening every weekend of the month. It’s insane and I wouldn’t miss it for the world. On Samhain the veil between the worlds is at its thinnest and we can freely communicate with those who have gone before us. It’s a time to honor our ancestors and to reflect upon our past and a little upon our future. We give thanks for the harvest season and for the blessings we’ve received during the year. Samhain is a powerful time for those of the Pagan religions.

There are many things to look forward to in the autumn. For me, the gatherings for Mabon (the autumn equinox) and Samhain are a time to meet with friends and be around those of like mind. It’s a time to relax. There are bonfires to roast marshmallows over and cool nights to sit out under the stars. Autumn is a busy time, even if in this day we don’t have to worry about bringing in the harvest ourselves. I look forward to the change in weather and the chance of seeing friends.
Book Blogger Hop

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Just blogging by, I agree I love the autumn season.

  2. I love autumn too, and what a beautiful description you gave! New follower hopping through. My FF is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  3. This week’s question is perfect for Labor Day weekend with the “official” end of summer and all.

    I’m all about fall! I love all four seasons and I’m sorry to see summer go (I hope to get in a few more swims in my pool) but I’m also amped up for Autumn.

    Why?

    For most of the same reasons we all like autumn – fall foods, Halloween, the chill in the air, changing leaves and candy corn. But I’ve got a scary slant to why I’m angling for autumn. Hop on over to my book blog at http://www.howardsherman.net to read all about the murder, mayhem, seriously spooky stuff and even some BSP!

    Happy Labor Day Weekend!

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  4. the way you describe it Autumn sounds good…but I’m still NOT looking forward to it!

    BTW – My name is Patricia, I also am 28 AND i have a cat too.

    Trish – Friday’s Memes

  5. New follower here hopping through!

    I’m a Summer and Spring fan myself, but I do love October…mostly because of my birthday and Halloween.

    You have a lovely blog.

    Here’s my Hop

  6. Saw your link in the BBH. I miss the Pagan holidays and rituals. They were so much fun! Haven’t been to one in a couple of years. That was also one of my favorite parts about October! I also really miss Lughnasadh. The bonfires and dancing were very, very fun. Wish I could talk my husband into it.

    Anyway, have fun! =) Love your blog layout.

  7. Just hopping through. Friday Post! New Follower.

  8. I just popped over from Crazy for Books, so i’m a new follower and admin over at peaceloveyalit.blogspot.com/ What I’m looking forward to is wearing my hoodies and watching some SEC college football this fall! Roll Tide Roll!! Happy fall and Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

