Book Blogger Hop – 9/16 – Profile?

Ah, Friday, we meet again old friend. Where were you on Tuesday when I threw my alarm clock across the room? I could have used you then! It’s Friday again everybody and that means it’s time for the Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Jennifer at Crazy for Books.

Our question this week is: “As a book blogger, how do you introduce yourself in your profile?”

Oh, I’m a bit guilty of not really paying attention to profiles and mine is a little blank (or it was). A profile should include your name (or a pseudonym if you go by that) and little pieces of information like your age, some hobbies, and if you have pets or siblings. This takes up about a paragraph on my profile. It’s nothing too personal, mostly because this is a book blog and not my personal blog where life rants appear. It’s just enough to cover the basics and give you an idea of who I am.

Then we get into what I like to call the “niche” paragraph. This is the paragraph that explains why my book blog might be a little different from other blogs that focus on books. I like fantasy and I especially like to read about magic and witches. I read fantasy because I view books as a means of escape and the farther away from real life a book gets the more likely I am to like it. As a Pagan and a witch myself, I find reading about magic and witches entertaining and can offer a unique perspective on the subjects. But, really, I’ll read almost anything that looks good.

A profile needs to explain to potential readers why they should stop and read your blog. It needs to explain why your blog is different from the other millions of blogs just like it and make a reader take a second glance. This is how you get long term readers to your blog. A profile is a condensed advertisement and needs to get across the “who, what, and where” of your book blog.

Book Blogger HopHey, what to join in on a new book meme? Then head on over to Question Hat! A new question will appear every Wednesday but you can answer this week’s prompt any time you want. Go on over and have fun!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on September 16, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow…I’m going to be honest and say that I never really put that much thought into my profile..but you are right…it should be an easy place for a reader to go to ascertain whether they want to follow and read my blog. Guess for me the trouble is putting myself in a niche. I read a lot of everything also magical realism (think Garden Spells and Practical Magic) is my favorite. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m going to be following yours:) Sounds like we have some common interests:)

    ♥ Melissa @ Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf

  2. This week’s Book Blogger Hop really threw me a curveball.

    That’s because I don’t call myself a book blogger. I never even considered myself a book blogger. Sure I blog about books and book-related topics week after week. But for some reason I never saw the label of “book blogger” applying to me.

    If you’re wondering why then please hop on over to my blog and find out – http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  3. A pagan and a witch, huh? Wow. That got my attention more than anything else in your post. Maybe you should start your profile with that! Glad to have found you via the Hop 🙂

  4. I like your answer. I really need to update my profile! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I did put thought into my About Me statement (although I had to go back and look at it because I didn’t remember what it said). I’m still happy with it, although I can see maybe revising it at some point. 🙂

    Happy Hopping!

  6. I recently changed my profile to reflect the fact I’m almost done with library school. Please come and read my new introduction.

  7. Hopping through on the book blog. I love your layout! I’ve always found about mes to be difficult to write and tend to revise mine all the time because I think of something different to say.

    Jex @ Everything and Nothing

  8. What a great blog….love the clean design.

    Stop by my blog if you can to see my answer.

    Elizabeth

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

