Question Hat – 9/21/2011 – Book or Movie?

I am wearing my favorite earrings. The silver leaf dangles that jingle softly when I move. (jingle jingle) One needs jingly earrings for Question Hat Wednesday! Welcome readers and join in on the fun!

To play: Answer the prompt on your own blog and then return here and post a comment back to your answer. Please, use the link back to your post, not back to your blog so readers don’t have to go searching for it.

A link back to this Question Hat post would be greatly appreciated!

This week’s question: This has to be the eternal readers’ question; Book or Movie?

My answer: I must admit, there are a few books I would never have touched if it hadn’t been turned into a movie. And for a few of those books, I think the movie was better. I can practically hear some of you gasping and shouting “Blasphemy!” are your computer screens. Without the movies, I would have never read the Lord of the Rings. I read the trilogy before the movies came out just because of the big hullabaloo that the media was making of them. I slogged through all three books and on a whole just reinforced how much I hate the “classics”. The archaic writing style just makes my head hurt and I find it incredibly boring. But I adored the movies and think Peter Jackson is amazing. For the Lord of the Rings, the movies were definitely better.

I also read the Sherlock Holmes stories because of the 2009 movie. The writing style for the detective stories is vastly differently from the romp across Middle-Earth. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s writing is quick and sharp, where J.R.R. Tolkien’s writing is slow and kind of convoluted. While I liked the Sherlock Holmes movie, I think the (many, many) books are better. (Sorry Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law. I love you both!)

So what are some of the book and movie combinations where the book came out on top for you? How about where the movie was better? Or do you avoid reading the books that were turned into movies or seeing the movies that came from books?

Grab a button? (Right click, save picture as, and please save to your own computer!)

                  

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on September 21, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

