30 Day Book Meme – Day One

Day 01The best book you read last year?

You know, last year was a long time ago. I can’t remember what happened last week, let alone last year. I couldn’t have read anything mind blowing if I can’t remember it. I went through some of my notes to jog my memory and decided that the best book I read last year was Wither by J.G Passarella.

Remember the 1993 movie Hocus Pocus? Cute, stars Bette Midler, gets shown on the Disney Channel every October? Wither is sort of like that. In Wither, three witches were hung but refuse to die and returned in present time to suck the life force of three women so they might live again. But, Wither is Hocus Pocus turned on its head. The witches return as monsters and their caregiver, or rather slave, feeds them cattle and then, when that is not enough, humans. When Wendy, a college student dabbling in white magic, is tapped as one of the woman the witches will suck the life from, she has to fight for her life and discover just what real magic is about.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on September 27, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

