30 Day Book Meme – Day Six

Day 06A book that makes you sad? 

We’ve established that I’m a big old softie, right? I cry at the drop of a hat. There is pretty much a section in every book in the world that is guaranteed to at least make me tear up a little. In high school, I’d cry at the videos lazy teachers played for us. The world is just so beautiful. How can you not cry at how awesome our world is? 

Let’s see; Bridge to Terabithia left me nothing more than a little sobbing ball in the corner. And that happened for both the book and the movie. The Velveteen Rabbit is always guaranteed to get me going. Charlotte’s Web always made me a little sad. I was forced to read Lord of the Flies in school and was both repulsed and saddened by it. A Little Princess; book, movie, play, all made me cry. 

But the two books that made me the saddest were Marley & Me: Love and Life with the World’s Worst Dog and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World. Just thinking about those books makes me tear up. They are both about animals and to me stories about animals are the most emotional. Animals are innocent. They don’t understand prejudice. They don’t feel hate and anger the way humans do. A pet will love you for no better reason than the fact that your lap is warm. That’s what animals do. They sit there and purr or pant and are happy for it. I was reading Dewey in a bookstore, trying to see if it was any good, and had to dash to the bathroom when the tears came. Many books will make me sad, most will even make me cry, but books with animals will leave me a mess.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on October 5, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

