30 Day Book Meme – Day Seven

Day 07Most underrated book? 

There are dozens upon dozens of books where I’ve wondered why more people didn’t know the awesomeness that was that book. My two biggest are the Sherlock Holmes stories and the King Arthur legends. They are not so much underrated but almost nobody reads them. I’m active in both fandoms (a community focusing on a book, TV show, or movie while producing fan made artworks and general mayhem) and while everyone has seen the new BBC United Kingdom TV show versions of Sherlock and Merlin, very few bother to comb through the material that inspired them. Since those recent adaptations have led to an influx of new fans, there is a bit of snobbery going around between the newbies and those fans who have read the original stories. Very annoying. It’s also very hard to find fanworks based off just the books rather than the new TV shows (and in the case of Sherlock Holmes, the movies). 

The Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffrey is another I think more people should read. It’s a wonderful example of great world building and it has dragons. You can’t beat dragons.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on October 6, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. For most underrated books I would probably say anything by Hubert Selby Jr. He is one of my favorite authors but you almost never hear his books being mentioned by people. Requiem for a Dream is probably his most famous books (because of the movie) but all of his books are very unique and good reads. Personally I think that Waiting Period and The Willow Tree are his two best works, but I suggest everything he has written.

Leave a Reply

