30 Day Book Meme – Day Ten

Day 10Favorite classic book? 

Well, that is a toughie. We all have different ideas about what a classic is. Does a book merely have to be old to be a classic? Some would say that Harry Potter is now a classic. Horton Hears a Who could be considered a classic right alongside Pride and Prejudice. What makes a classic? Calling something a classic is a form of book snobbery that I think has gotten out of hand. There are so many great books both new and old that has the timeless quality that allows a book to survive the turning tides of literary taste. For different reasons, any book could be called a classic. 

However, I must present Alice in Wonderland as my choice for favorite classic. I don’t think Alice in Wonderland is a children’s book. I read it once as a kid and was completely confused by it. But I read it again as a teen and was able to wrap my head around Lewis Carroll’s totally insanity much better. You do have to be a little mad to really enjoy Alice in Wonderland. (I also adore Through the Looking Glass, The Hunting of the Snark, and Jabberwocky.) [Yes, I’m aware that Lewis Carroll was a pseudonym and his real name was Charles Dodgson.)

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on October 11, 2011, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

