Musing Mondays – Collecting Authors?

Are you currently collecting any authors? Why?
Do you have all of their books? If not, why not?
Did you buy all the books in the collection at the same time, or did you buy a book here, a book there?
Have you actually read all of the collection? If not, why not?

Is there a different between “collecting an author” and simply just following them? I have a few authors that I follow pretty closely because I enjoy their writing so much. Neil Gaiman is an awesome author and I’ve read all his books but only own like one or two. I rarely buy books. I’m poor and cheap and have a library card. I own The Graveyard Book because it was a gift and I think one of the short stories collections. Fragile Things, if memory serves me right. Gaiman doesn’t have any series but I’ve read everything I can get my hands on and eagerly wait for more. Following his Twitter account is exhausting! The fluffy haired man gets around!

Another author I follow and collect is Terry Pratchett and I do have a set of Discworld books. I don’t have all of them and I only collect a book here and there. I mostly ask for them as gifts (again with the cheap and poor thing) and I once, years ago as a teen, spent some Christmas money buying several hard copy books of the series through Ebay. I haven’t read all of them. I mostly enjoy the books about the witches, so some of the others really don’t interest me and the Discworld series goes on forever. But they look very nice on my shelf. I’ve read his most recent books with Tiffany Aching and I’m rather hoping he can write some more. I understand he’s in poor health, alas.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 14, 2011, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I recently put The Graveyard Book on my wishlist. I need to find out what all the fuss is about!!

    ♥ Melissa @ Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

