Musing Mondays – Authors?

How do you decide to read a book by an author you haven’t read before? What sort of recommendations count most highly in making that decision?

I can’t remember a time where I had just an author recommended to me for fiction. It’s usually a certain book that gets recommended and then if I like that book I might check out what else that author has written to see if I like those too. I discovered the truly awesome authors of Diana Wynne Jones, Neil Gaiman, and Terry Pratchett like that. I read one book and loved it so much I sought out other books written by them. They are my favorite authors now.

Years ago, when I was beginning my serious study into Paganism and witchcraft, certain names were recommended to me then. Cunningham and Buckland flew like snowflakes at my head. There were even recommendations for author to avoid. (Like anybody that had a name that could appear on the My Little Pony TV show. Twilight Sparkle may be the name of a little pony but it could also easily be the name of a witchy book author. I kid you not.) So, I’ve had a lot of authors recommended to me for non-fiction books and as long as I think the person doing the recommending isn’t a complete basket case, I’ll probably check the author out.

I get most of my recommendation from other book bloggers. But again, it’s rarely ever an author that is recommended but a certain book. If another book blogger says the like a book and I know that blogger reads the same type of genre as I do, then I can be pretty sure to like the book as well.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I get recommendations from Library Thing and always check the new book section at the library
    but fellow bloggers are probably my number one source of recommendations..like I need more books..lol

  2. LOL, oh yes, those witchy names are out there sometimes. All the Moon Goddess-Something-or-other are hilarious, but kind of adorable at the same time 🙂

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/11/musing-mondays_21.html

  3. HA! Twilight Sparkle! That is too funny and yet so true!!! I get book recommendations from everywhere…book store and library browsing but most recently also the majority come from fellow bloggers!!

Leave a Reply

