Musing Monday: Buying any books for the holidays?

 

Will you be buying books for the holidays, this year? If so, for whom, and why?

 

As I’ve said before, I rarely buy books. I prefer to get them through the library. That said, this is the time of year for gift giving. Unfortunately, the only other die-hard reader of my acquaintance is my Mother. (Who on a good day can devour a penny-dreadful or dime store romance in just a couple hours.) [We have very different tastes in books, my Mother and I.]

 My Father has a vague interest in non-fiction books about the World Wars and my Brother might be seen occasionally with something weapons or medieval based. (Boys. Sigh.) But trying to buy my Mother a book is like trying to find a nice snowflake for an avalanche. Plus, in the last few years she’s taken to reading most of her books on her Kindle. It’s just easier for her rather than getting out to the store or library herself. So, an Amazon gift card might be in her future but I doubt I will be buying any books this year. (Unless I get a gift card as a present myself.) 

I have a mutual agreement with my friends not to buy each other gifts for the holiday or birthdays. It saves a lot of hassle and none of them are book readers anyway. (Geez, I need different friends!)  We go out to celebrate any occasion since the gift of our time and the money we spend while out is pretty much all we can manage these days. All of my friends are married with children. (I really, really need different friends…) They have never been avid readers and now they are lucky if they have time to breathe, let alone read.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. there certainly is something to be said for those gift cards!

  2. For most of my family I prefer gift cards too! There’s only a few people who know my book tastes well enough to pick something I’d like – and it’s so much fun to go on a book shopping spree!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day:)

    April @ My Shelf Confessions

Leave a Reply

