Booking Through Thursday – Dec. 22.

Our question for this week is: Any books you’re hoping to get for the holidays this year? How about giving? Are you giving any good ones?

My friends are only occasional readers, so books don’t make good gifts for them. (I need new friends. Book haters!) I gave up on actually buying my Mom books so many years ago I can’t even remember. She goes through books so fast that it’s just better to allow her to go to the library and get a sack full. Now she uses her Kindle like it’s a third arm. A gift card to Amazon would work better for her than me trying to buy a book.

As for me getting a book for Christmas; that would require them to pay attention to my wildly changing tastes and/or read my blog. (Hi Mom.) A gift card is much more likely. (With which I will probably not buy a book but some more floating shelves to place the books I already have upon. There are still books from my grandmother back at the house I have yet to fetch.)

(This reminds me of the time my Aunt gave me some books for Christmas when I was 12 or 13 years old. One of them had a sex scene in it. This was about the time I decided that everyone else in the world was an idiot. I have not been proven wrong yet.)

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you got better books as a child than me! My parents always asked librarian’s what books I got most–then bought already read/loved/owned books for me!

    I need some floating shelves–my two cases are stuffed full, and now I’m getting more!

    That’s interesting that your mom uses an eReader–my mother wouldn’t be able to turn one on, though she loves books!

    Happy holidays!
    My BTT

  2. HA! people just don’t think sometimes!

Leave a Reply

