Follow Friday – Dec. 22

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkie and Allison Can Read. Every Friday our good hosts give us a prompt to answer and unleash the book blogger community upon it. It’s all a good bit of fun. Also, Merry Christmas everybody!

Our prompt this week is: If you had to spend eternity inside the pages of a book which book would you choose and why? 

My kneejerk answer is Lord of the Rings. Since the elves are immortal, spending an eternity inside the book might actually be possible. Then I thought about it some and realized I really like plumbing and flush toilets. So, I was thinking Harry Potter because I want to do magic and have a wand and go to Hogwarts and be a Ravenclaw and possibly turn myself into a cat if I could manage it. But I don’t want to copy Parajunkie.

Then I was thinking Stardust by Neil Gaiman because the other side of the wall is Fairy Land but then we get into the whole not having plumbing thing again. Why are all the really great places without plumbing? Does fantasy have something against hygiene? Can’t I just be, like, the Page Master or something and just have all the books? I don’t want to choose!

Then I realized that characters in fantasy books never use the toilet, so that must mean they don’t need to and if I’m in the book, that would mean I wouldn’t ever have to worry about having enough toilet paper again. So we’re back to Lord of the Rings and elves. I want to be the elf that is in charge of the library in Rivendell and spends all her time reading. Can I have that? Yes? That would be nice.

God, just ignore me. I’m running on fumes and too much coffee.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in book meme, Follow Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hopping through. Great choices. I need to read more Neil Gaiman. I’ve only read The Graveyard book, which I loved.
    My Hop

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      I adored The Graveyard Book. I actually own it because when I went to the library to check it out all the copies were gone and quite a few reserves were piled up on top of that. I don’t have that type of patience with authors I truly love and gave in and just bought it. I couldn’t wait. I really do recommend his other books. Gaiman’s writing style is so lovely.

  2. I haven’t had the time to read the Lord of the Rings yet but I will make time…New follower so come follow me at bookreaper.blogspot.com. Happy Holidays!

  3. Hi, Patricia!

    Oh, I LOVE your answer! The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter are my favorite places to spend eternity in!! I would love to be an elf, just like you. I love Lothlorien and Rivendell. I love all the wonderful characters of the Fellowship of the Ring!! And, of course, I also adore Harry Potter and his friends, and it would be totally enchanting to live at Hogwarts….sigh…

    Although I’ve heard of Neil Gaiman, I’m not familiar with this book of his you’ve mentioned here. Gotta do something about that!

    Your comments about the plumbing and hygiene are so funny! And you’re right — characters in a fantasy novel don’t need to use the bathroom! Lol. Actually, in most novels, even those with modern settings, this is not mentioned much. Aftera all, this is a rather unpleasant aspect of life…

    I would love to follow your wonderful blog, but I see you’re on WordPress, and we all know about the GFC widget being done away with by Blogger… I can’t follow by email — I have too many incoming emails as it is! How about Networked Blogs? I could follow you there! Sure hope you add that!

    Well, this is sorta turning a small book, so I’ll stop….lol.

    Happy Holidays!! : )

    Here’s my FF post:

    http://anightsdreamofbooks.blogspot.com/2011/12/follow-my-book-blog-friday-hop-16.html?showComment=1324749965744#c9148603083000867131

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      Your wish is my command, Maria! You will now find a lovely Networked Blogs widget on the right side of this page, under the subscribe heading. Consider this my Christmas gift to the blogging community. Lol.

      Stardust by Neil Gaiman is also a very good movie. I adore Neil Gaiman and all his books. The movie is good but I prefer his book because his writing style is so whimsical and witty that it just adds another layer to the story. He’s my favorite author and the author I always recommend to people. The Graveyard Book is great too. Neverwhere is a bit of a mess but it’s a lovely, lovely mess if you stick with it.

      I find it hilarious that the bathroom is never mentioned in books. It’s like nobody needs to bath or pee in fantasyland. Me, I don’t even like camping. I need my plumbing.

      Thanks for the long comment!

  4. Too much coffee is never good. 🙂 Anyway, I’d love to live in Hogwarts forever if given the chance. New follower, Happy Holidays!

    Sarah @ Smitten over Books

Leave a Reply

