Friday Finds! – Dec.23.

Welcome to Friday Finds! What great books did you hear about/discover this past week?

It’s only two more days until Christmas! (are you panicking yet?) Did anyone pick up any awesome books as gifts?

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. (A review from The Book Smugglers turned me on to this book. I love Greek myths and anything set in the ancient world.)

Wicked Lovely & Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr (I’m trying to compile a list for a 2012 reading challenge and just read a good review for Ink Exchange.)

Croak by Gina Damico (I have a mild obsession with Grim Reapers and other death mythos.)

A Study in Sherlock by Laurie R. King (editor) (Are you pulling my leg? I adore Sherlock Holmes and Neil Gaiman is a contributor! I’m so there.)

Hushed by Kelley York (LGBT goodness and I like crazy girls and messed up boys.)

 

And if I don’t get a chance to post again over the weekend – Merry Christmas!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in book meme, books, Friday Finds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I recently read Wicked Lovely – it’s not bad. I like the look of some of the others you mention too. 🙂
    Here’s my Friday Finds post. 🙂

  2. A Study in Sherlock is on my Christmas wishlist! It sounds incredibly interesting, though it seems to have gotten mixed reviews. I’m not such a stickler about deviating from canon though, which appears to be the biggest complaint, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it. Plus, as you said, Neil Gaiman is a contributor. Anyway, if you read and enjoyed it, there are rumors of a second volume in the works. Peace!

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      I know some Sherlock Holmes fans are rabid purists about canon but I figure that if fans are going to take the time to create material for the fandom, I should at least check it out. Especially if it contains a piece from my favorite author. I’ve always loved Sherlock Holmes but the fandom didn’t take off until the movie and now with the United Kingdom BBC TV show. I adore all reincarnations. A second volume would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

