Booking Through Thursday – Interview part 2

Booking Through Thursday this week is a set of interview questions.

1.What’s your favorite time of day to read?
Evenings or night-time. I mostly find myself curling up to read after dinner and then I like to read in bed before I go to sleep.

2.Do you read during breakfast? (Assuming you eat breakfast.)
No. I rarely eat breakfast. Mostly I grab something when I get to work (I keep a stash of granola bars and dried fruit in my desk) and on weekends breakfast is usually a bowl of cereal. I don’t stop to read.

3.What’s your favorite breakfast food? (Noting that breakfast foods can be eaten any time of day.)
Pancakes! More than one dinner has included pancakes.

4.How many hours a day would you say you read?
About 7 hours a day. Let me explain. I work in front of a computer but I deal mostly with paper drawings. (I work in an engineering office.) I have perfected the skill of shuffling paper around without really having to look at it and I’ve developed the habit of keeping either a PDF file with a story open on the computer screen or a book propped between the monitor and keyboard. (I get yelled at if I’m on the internet too much.) I bore easily; having something to read is self-defense.  I also have a MP3 player that I use for podfics and audiobooks.

5.Do you read more or less now than you did, say, 10 years ago?
Less. I was still in school 10 years ago and could reasonably be reading between and after classes and then lose an entire summer in countless books and online stories. If I take vacation off from work, it’s right back to my old habit. Hours fly by when I’m on the computer.

6.Do you consider yourself a speed reader?
I’m a fast reader but I don’t like to skim. I feel like I’m losing something if I just skim and I worry about missing some small clue. Since I read so much, I read faster than most people.

7.If you could have any superpower, what would it be?
To be able to summon things. Like if I left my wallet in the car I could just summon it to me. Or if I lost whatever I could just summon it. (Or if I saw a pretty diamond necklace I could summon it out of its case. I fear I might be evil if I got a superpower. Sorry.)

8.Do you carry a book with you everywhere you go?
Yes. I take my current read to work with me every day.

9.What KIND of book?
Whatever I happen to be reading at the time. Mostly YA and fantasy books. I don’t tend to take my witchy books out into public. I don’t want them getting dirty and the last thing I need is some nosey fucker making a stupid comment.

10.How old were you when you got your first library card?
I can’t remember.  I still use my original library card, so it’s just a piece of paper that’s been laminated. I want to say I was probably 12 or so.

11.What’s the oldest book you have in your collection? (Oldest physical copy? Longest in the collection? Oldest copyright?)
I have a set of leather bound children’s stories from my grandmother dated early 1900’s or so. There are others but they are so old and falling apart I’m afraid to touch them.

12.Do you read in bed?
Yes. Almost every night before sleep. It helps me unwind.

13.Do you write in your books?
Not in the fiction books but I do in my witchy reference and study books. They all have little pencil notes in the margins and are full of highlighter markings.

14.If you had one piece of advice to a new reader, what would it be?
Is anybody ever new to reading? I mean, even the youngest kid has had things read to them. Some kids or teens will insist they just don’t like reading but that’s because they are forced to read things they genuinely don’t like in school. The so called “classics” bored me to tears. Give anybody a book on a subject they like, and you have a reader. My advice? Find and read books you like and don’t let other people question your book choices.

15.What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask? (Actually, leave the answer to this one in the comments on this post, huh? So I can find them when I need inspiration!)
Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on January 12, 2012, in about the blogger, book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

