Booking Through Thursday – 5 Books

It’s time again for Booking Through Thursday! (God, I am so ready for the weekend. Can we just skip Friday and go straight to Saturday?)

Our question for this week is: If you had to pick only 5 books to read ever again, what would they be and why?

That is a cruel question! End of the world for sure! What if I had a series bound in one book? Because I have the three Lord of the Rings books in one big, fat edition. Does that count as one? I’ll count that as one. Let’s see. What else?

Witchlanders by Lena Coakley because it is still my favorite book.

The Graveyard Book because I adore Neil Gaiman and need something from him.

Ummm… (God this is hard!)

Okay, this book requires a bit of explanation. There was a TV show a few years ago, Stargate: Atlantis, where a group of people are sent to another galaxy without a guarantee they could get back to Earth. One of the main characters takes War and Peace with him as his personal item and it’s a running joke in the fandon that he’s been reading the book for years. I like irony. Plus I’ve never read War and Peace. So, that will be my fourth book.

For my fifth book I’m going to cheat again became I’m evil that way. I have the works of Sherlock Holmes in one, big fat edition too. If I’m only going to have five book for the rest of eternity, I’m going to make them count.

So,
1) Lord of the Rings collection edition.
2) Witchlanders by Lena Coakley.
3) The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.
4) War and Peace.
5) Sherlock Holmes collection edition.

Although, I want you all to know that if the world does end and I really only have five books to read for the rest of my life than I might just go a bit insane and there’s no guarantee I’ll be fit company afterward. Fair warning.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on February 9, 2012, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hmm, The Graveyard Book keeps popping up around me—I’m thinking this is a sign I ought to read the book too. Excellent list! I admit, I cheated a little with mine and included an entire series (because, really, it ought to be considered as ONE story arc, in my opinion).

    Thanks for sharing your picks!

Leave a Reply

