In My Mailbox – February 27.

In December I won a gift card to Barnes & Noble through one of the blog hops and then for Christmas my brother gave me an Amazon.com gift card. I finally got off my butt the past week and spent them both. I wanted to get Witchlander by Lena Coakley because it was my favorite book in 2011 and I thought that deserved having its own copy in my library. Plus, I’m really hoping she writes a sequel. (Please! Please! Write a sequel!) But the Barnes & Noble didn’t have any copies (I was shocked!), so I had to buy it through Amazon.com.

Instead, from Barnes & Noble I got a thesaurus and a character trait guide book for my writing. I have dictionaries and a set of encyclopedias but I didn’t have a thesaurus. I thought I should probably get one. Then my friend, let’s call her S, had this character trait book and descriptive word index that I covet but that’s been out of print for years and I really, really want one but found this character trait book that looked good instead. With the gift card I won I ended up spending a little less than $5 on both. Sweet!

Then through Amazon.com I got Witchlander by Lena Coakley but for some reason they only had hard copies. I would have preferred a paperback but Amazon whacked me with a rolled up newspaper and told me no. So I ordered the hard copy. (Stupid Amazon.) Then I had been trying to find some witchy books by Judika Illes but could never find them in the stores. (I hate ordering things online. I prefer to actually look at a book before buying it. Especially non-fiction books.) I have other books by Judika Illes (The Encyclopedia of Witches was good.) and I know she has a lot of spells books and index books. So, I bought the Encyclopedia of 5,000 Spells. (All the gods, what a fat book. Ugh!) With the gift card I spent just under $10.

I won a few books for a Christmas hop and a necklace I should get pictures up for. We’ll do that next week. Later!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on February 27, 2012, in book meme, books, In My Mailbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

