Feature & Follow – Book to Movie?

Hello Friday! (And payday!) {And the day before my birthday!} [Oh crap!] It’s time once again for Parajunkee and Alison Can Read’s Feature and Follow! Head over to either of their sites and start hopping through the links and joining other book bloggers. You don’t have to go through all of them, just pick a few that look interesting. Remember, if you are playing then it is good manners to leave a comment and follow the blog. Be sure to follow the Featured Blogs (Mercurial Musings and Owl Tell You About It) and have some fun.

There are now several ways for you to follow me. To the right there are links to my Twitter, Feedburner RSS, Goodreads page, Networked blogs, and now the Follow linky. Take your pick and feel free to leave a comment. (Ungh, comments –zombie moan-)

Our prompt for this week is: What book would you love to see made into a movie or television show and do you have actors/actresses in mind to play the main characters?

Loaded question there. We’ve all seen movies based on books that are just too painful to think about, let alone watch. Then there are those movies based on books that blew us away. (The Lord of the Rings trilogy is one such book to movie move that I adore.) We’re all wondering how The Hunger Games are going to turn out. (I’m eagerly awaiting The Hobbit myself. Yes, yes. Tolkien ate my head. Shut up.) The Twilight Saga ate the world and, in honor of his birthday today, Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax is now in theaters (and looks absolutely adorable). Don’t get me started on how One for the Money was treated. (It wasn’t that bad, in my opinion.) Someone just has to mention Harry Potter to understand how the book to movie industry can explode.

One of my favorite book series is the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett and I would like to see those turned into movies, especially the Witches books and the Tiffany Aching arc. There are a few low budget, made for TV movies of the series but I’d love to see something with a full effects team and the magic a proper movie would be able to offer. I loved the movie Stardust, which is based on a book by Neil Gaiman, and would love to see The Graveyard Book turned into a movie. Gaiman also has more than one collection of short stories that I think would make an excellent TV series. With TV shows like Grimm (love it!) and Once Upon A Time (love it!) on right now, it seems the time is right for fantasy.

God, I don’t know about actors. I have actors I adore but they are all too old for most of those rolls. (Robert Downey Jr., James McAvoy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Michael Fassbender, Ryan Reynolds, and a few others I can’t think of off the top of my head.) Oh, Maggie Smith for Granny Weatherwax in the discworld series! (I adore her one-liners from Downton Abbey and she’s already proven herself capable of doing the sarcastic witch with Professor McGonagall in the Harry Potter movies. I know she’d knock our socks off if she had a bigger role.) Geez, I don’t keep up with actors enough to pick them.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in book meme, books, Follow Friday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I had a hard time picking a book to movie because I am usually disappointed in the results. But I do think The Lorax looks really cute! Check out my FF here.
    New follower! Happy reading 🙂

  2. Dragonflydaydreams

    Found your blog on FF Friday – it looks great. I love the crisp, fresh design and it’s very easy to read. I look forward to popping by more often 🙂
    http://bronasbooks.blogspot.com.au/

  3. Hopping through. I’d love to see The Graveyard Book turned into a movie. Such a beautiful story.
    http://www.alisoncanread.com/2012/03/feature-and-follow-friday-86.html

  4. I haven’t read the Discworld series or any of Neil Gaiman’s books but I have read the Hunger Games and I really can’t wait for the movie to be released I’m so excited, new follower, here’s mine
    http://www.headstuckinabook.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/feature-and-follow-friday-17.html

Leave a Reply

