Musing Monday – Bad Book Cover?

I helped a friend move some furniture last night. My legs feel like wet noodles and I’m exhausted. I’m also very sore. My friend also managed to fall off the porch of the house and sprain her ankle. Comedy of errors, I swear to god. Anyway, happy Monday everybody! It’s in the 80’s in my neck of the woods and I had to turn on my air conditioner over the weekend because it just got too hot in the apartment. I hated to do it in the middle of March and it’s back into the 60’s later this week but I just couldn’t stand it any longer. So, onto Musing Monday from MizB over at Should Be Reading.

Our prompt for this week is: Would you choose to review a book if its description sounded interesting but the cover was terrible?

That depends. If I was asked by someone, like the author or the publisher, to review a book like that then I probably would. I’d have both the description and cover in front of me and would be able to look past a bad cover in that situation. If I was just browsing through the shelves at the library or bookstore then I probably wouldn’t give the book a second glance.  Let’s be honest here. The first thing we see of a book is the title printed along the side. The only way the cover is the first thing we see is if the book is one of those lucky few who are being featured and being displayed front ways. Then we see the cover and, really, for me I might just pick that featured book up even if it had a bad cover just to see what warranted it being placed in such a position of honor. But normally the side is the only thing we see of a book. So, it’s really the one or two inch space on the side that is trying to draw a reader in. A good name, neat font, or other detail is what might make a person browsing the shelves take down a book to even look at a cover. So, I would probably read a book with a good description but bad cover but you’d have a hard time getting me to pick the book up in the first place.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in book meme, books, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yeah, when browsing in a store, a bad cover will probably deter me from picking the book up.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/musing-mondays_19.html

  2. Oh, your answer is awesome! It’s just what I meant to say. 😉

Leave a Reply

