Cover Me! I’m going in!

Is it just me or are there just way, way too many YA book covers where there is some pretty girl staring moodily off into the distance or the naked or at least half naked torso of some ridiculously fit boy? Usually the boy’s head is mysteriously chopped off. (I take it the head is not the important part?) Is there some rule I’m not aware of that dictates pretty people make the only acceptable book covers?

Could we perhaps get something that is, oh I don’t know, different? Something original? Something not grey and purple. It would be nice to see some color on a book cover once and a while. Perhaps where the girl actually matches the description of the main character given in the book? Because they are not all Caucasian with dark hair and eyes. I don’t understand this rut that book covers seem to be in!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

