Booking Through Thursday – Rewrite that!

Once again it is time for Booking Through Thursday! Time for a meme. We all love our memes.

This week’s question is: Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

(GASP!) That’s my question! Oh my god! I’m going to have to go through everybody’s answers now and see what you all said. I asked this because I wanted to know how many of us book readers were also writers and how that might affect how we read a book. If something in a book doesn’t seem smooth or as defined as we think it should be, does the inner-writer think that if the author had just done this or that then it would have been so much better?

I know I do! If I come across something that seems odd, I think I would have just tossed that part out. Or if there is a section that is just too confusing, I think how a rewrite would have cleaned that right up. I sometimes rewrite whole sections of books in my head. It’s like my worst bad habit. You almost want to reach through the page and move around the words and then shake the author shouting “What were you thinking!” It must be the writer in me. Won’t shut up for anything.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 22, 2012, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yeah, as a writer, I also do that, frown at certain word choices, or sentence structures 🙂

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_22.html

  2. It there are sections of the book that drone on and on about unimportant things, I would trash them.
    Here’s My BTT

  3. I’m definitely not a writer, but there are times I wish I was an editor.

  4. First – GREAT QUESTION! It’s my first BTT in months.

    Okay, now…I’m a writer, in that I make my living at it. Mostly (for money) I write copy, or write corporate blogs, or write articles, but that’s what real working writers do, while they’re working on stories and novels and such (which yes, I’m also doing.)

    But, I’m also an improvisational actor, and a voice actor, and it’s the awareness that improv gave me that both helped my own writing to improve and also made me much pickier about what I consider ‘good.’

    I touched upon two things that bother me in my own response to this, but I really feel that everyone who wants to be a writer, especially if they want to write fiction, should take an improv class.

Leave a Reply

