Ramblings of a Frustrated Writer Lady

Not only do I read, I also write. I write because if I don’t do something to get all these ideas out of my head then I will explode and nobody wants to clean that up. There are so many ideas rolling around my head that it’s hard to get one complete idea done before another takes over. I have a lot of half-finished projects that mock me with their incompleteness. I have notebooks and pens all over my apartment from the bathroom to the kitchen just in case an idea strikes and I need to write it down. If I don’t write it down, then there is a chance I will forget it. I’ve forgotten more stories than I have useless college math.

But, writing is like herding cats. Or kindergarteners. Just something unruly and temperamental. I have major plot points written down and I know that all I have to do is get the characters to that point so that such and such event can happen. Does anybody cooperate? No! My characters are running all over the place and nobody is doing what they’re supposed to do. I think I have everyone going in the right direction only to turn around and find a couple characters off making mischief that is not part of the story. I’m almost ready to introduce the second bit of conflict in the story I’m writing now but the main character wants to run away from the feast and is it really too much to ask that she just sit her ass down so I can get this one revealing conversation done and then she can run off to have her hissy-fit? I don’t think so!

Then I thought up this new idea over the weekend and plot from that story has been crowding the plot of my current story and I think I’m developing a split personality. That’s the only explanation. There are two people in this body and they both hate each other and wont’ shut up. I think writing is a symptom of insanity. Or insanity is a symptom of writing. Whatever. I’m going to make myself some tea and maybe get another bagel. Hopefully I won’t be attacked by a wild, rabid plot bunny looking to eat my brain. Dangerous things, those plot bunnies.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on April 5, 2012, in about the blogger and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

