Feature & Follow – Bad Reviews?

Yay! It’s Friday! And Easter weekend. Any reason to massacre a chocolate bunny. Peeps, however, are evil. Nothing that color should be considered food. But, it’s also time for Feature & Follow over at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. If you are hopping through, I’ve rearranged some things and all of the follow options should now be over on the left sidebar. I think. I hope so anyway.

Our question for this week is: Have you ever bought a book BECAUSE of a bad review?

Ah, I know where this question came from. Parajunkee just did one of her Book Blogging 101 posts (which I adore) and an asker was asking how to handle authors who get upset at bad reviews or seem to be trying to buy a good review from a blogger by giving them extra little “gifts” or what have you. Not something I’ve ever had to deal with since I’m really new at book blogging (well, newish) and I’m very hesitant to reach out and contact authors and publishers for just these reasons. I’d feel horrible if I was given an ARC and ended up hating it. It just seems like a big hassle and I’d rather just keep reviewing books that I’ve chosen. I don’t want to open that can of worms because I’ve heard some real horror stories from other book bloggers. (This is supposed to be fun, people. Stop making book blogging harder than it has to be.)

I can’t remember specifically if I’ve gotten a book because of a bad review but I probably would if it seemed like something I might enjoy or if I felt the reviewer didn’t like the book because of a reason I find ridiculous. I’ve read reviews from bloggers where the genre really wasn’t their thing and the review was lukewarm because of that and still gotten the book because it was a genre I liked. Not everyone is going to like the same book just because a reviewer gives a good review. I’ve hated books that had good reviews from other bloggers. A bad review might make me avoid a book if it listed some of the same dislikes that put me off books, like being slow or needlessly complex just to look impressive. I also avoid books where the reviews even elude to irritating main female characters. Nothing makes me hate a book quicker than some annoying girl in the lead spot. (Yes, I’m a girl. Most of the real life girls I know bug me too.)

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on April 6, 2012, in book meme, books, Follow Friday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Heehee I had Rachel ask this question this week because I’ve heard so many authors just FREAK OUT over bad reviews, and I wanted to show them that there are a LOT of people out there who will buy books because of, or maybe just in spite of, negative reviews 🙂

    I tend to go for books that elicit strong reactions, whether they be good or bad.. So when a bunch of my reader friends just HATE a book? It makes me want to read it, if for nothing else than to see if it’s really “that” bad. Since my library’s selection of ebooks is pretty terrible, I have no choice but to actually purchase them if I want to read them, so that’s why my own personal library is made up of such a wide range of books 😛

    Thanks for stopping by! Following back!

    Jess
    The Romanceaholic

  2. Lol a lot of girls in my real life bother me too! Which is definitely a pet peeve when I’m reading.

    Like you, I really only let a negative review dissuade me if it mentions specific things that I know I won’t like (like an irritating female protagonist). Other then that, I’m usually pretty good about keeping an open mind!

    New Follower 🙂 (Linky)

    Kelly
    Feature & Follow at Radiant Shadows

  3. rachelcotterill

    Are irritating women really any worse than irritating men? I could do without either 😉

    Following from FF – sorry it’s taken me a while to get round to you! It’s my first week joining in, I hope you might have time to visit my FF post.

Leave a Reply

