Book Blogger Hop – # of books?

Book Blogger Hop

Something smells in this office! I don’t know what but it’s giving me a headache. I can’t wait for the weekend to start. I took Monday off because I’m fried and I need two long weekends in a row to sleep in. But, it’s Friday! Lovely, lovely Friday and that means it’s time for a few hops. This is the Book Blogger Hop hosted by Jen at Crazy for Books!

Our question for this week is: How many books do you own? This can include books in your to-be-read (TBR) pile(s) and books you have already read that are on your keeper shelf.

I don’t own a great many books. (Not compared to some of the true book fanatics I’ve meet over the years.) (We’ve been over how I’m cheap and get most of my reading material from the library, right?) It has to be a truly great book for me to buy it. I bought my 2011 favorite book, Witchlanders by Lena Coakley. I have about 20 books from the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. (Hardcover ones that I won in the most nerve wreaking Ebay auction of my life.) I have several books by Neil Gaiman, including Stardust and The Graveyard Book. I have a set of leather-bound children’s classics from my Grandmother. (Of which the copy of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is my favorite.) I have several creature books that I collect because I love the art. There are about 20 more books that were given to me as gifts over the years. Then I have my non-fiction reference books that I have to buy because I have an obsessive need to highlight and scribble in the margins. (I’m like the crazy old sorcerer up in his tower, only, you know, a girl.) All told I probably have just under 100 books, give or take, that I own.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Book Blogger Hop, book meme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. fluidityoftime

    I think it’s cool that there are some books you collect just for their art — I have some children’s picture books that I love just because they are so pretty. I also have a shelf for Neil Gaiman (one of my favorite authors). My book collection is a bit large (I should probably go through a weed it a bit) …. 1000+. After going through the Hop today, I’m starting to feel a bit self-conscious. 🙂

  2. I have a few books I liked because of the art and have had the book cover done in poster size and framed. have a wonderful weekend.
    http://sidnereading.blogspot.com

  3. We’ve had a few of those nerve wracking etsy show-downs! My husband really gets into it. lol

    Here’s my post:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2012/05/tgifffbbh-51812.html

    Colletta

  4. I’ve been quite surprised by how many book bloggers don’t have 2 tons of books. I do have lots but I’ve never tried to count, so I don’t really know how many

  5. I should probably become a bit more frugal and use my library card!

    My hop post

  6. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

Leave a Reply

