Booking Through Thursday – What is in a name?

Happy Thursday everybody! The regular receptionist at work has the next two days off, which means I now get to come in early and stay late to handle both the phones and my normal job. Since the front desk and the printer are nowhere near each other, I get to run back and forth between them in order to handle the drawings that print out. I’ll be lucky if I get to eat lunch on the fly today and we’re having a bbq lunch for Memorial Day. This stunning example of managerial incompetence is brought to you by “the people who make decisions” in my office. Otherwise known as “the people who are so removed from the actual functioning part of this office that their dumb decisions are harmful.” Or “the Morons”, for short. Anyway, time for Booking Through Thursday!

Our question this week: Do you have any pets that have a name inspired by your readings? If not, what would you pick if you DID? Do any of your friends have book-based names for their pets? (Or their children?)

I have a cousin who named her daughter Emma but I’m not sure if it was for the literary character or because of Emma Watson from the Harry Potter movies. (She’s not the brightest crayon in the box, if you get my drift. I doubt she even knows who Jane Austen is, let alone picked up a book by her.) I had a fish that I named Elrond when I was a teen. (The movies were just coming out and I had reread the books just before.) He was a blue Siamese fighting fish. You know, those fish that have the long pretty tails? I had three goldfish I named Frodo, Pippin, and Merry but they didn’t last very long. Elrond lived for almost 6 years but the Hobbits all died within a week. Goldfish don’t live long with me for some reason. I’m like goldfish death.

I can’t think of any other pets named for literary characters. If I ever get a calico cat I’m so naming her Alice. Or one of those white cats that have one blue eye and one green eye. I’m weird.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love the LOTR theme you had goin’ on! So fun!

    Here’s my response: http://blueeggbooks.blogspot.com/2012/05/booking-through-thursday_24.html

  2. Well, elves are supposed to live forever, aren’t they? So, a goldfish elf that lives for almost 6 years is pretty good.
    We have a cat, who likes fish (and dill, go figure), and he definitely has a bookish name. 🙂

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      Elrond was a Siamese fight fish. He was one of those fish you see in little cups at the store with long tails. Very pretty. Six years is about right for them. I’ve never been able to keep a goldfish alive. I don’t know why! I murdered the Hobbits! (headdesk)

Leave a Reply

