Book Blogger Hop – Negative Reviews?

Book Blogger Hop

It’s Friday, I have only five hours of sleep because the internet ate me last night, and I’m stuck doing phones all day as the regular receptionist is on vacation. This does not bode well for my patience. Doing the phones is annoying and frustrating for me. I don’t like it. I get overtime because I have to be here at 7am because I also answer calls coming from the east coast. That’s right. We get calls for offices and people not even in the same time zone as us. Then I get bitched at when calls go to voice mail because I’m in a different state and can’t actually see if these people are at their desks or not.

Okay, okay. Breathe. Breathe and do the Book Bloggers Hop.

Our question for this week: How do you handle the writing of a negative review?

I believe a good review will highlight both positive qualities and negative qualities in a book. But sometimes a book is just that bad and there’s really nothing you can do about that. I’ve yet to not write a review for a book since I started blogging and I don’t intend to leave off a review just because it’s a negative review. However, I often feel self-conscious because I know that the authors sometimes do searches for their books and then I’ve gotten emails and comments from just readers that have reacted extremely to a negative book review I’ve posted. I’ve been called “mean” and “too negative” for my reviews before. Perhaps they are right but the whole point of having a book blog is so I have a place to share my opinions, both positive and negative. Honestly, I think that people who react like that are wound a little too tight. If I think a book warranted a negative review, then that’s my right. When I write a review I try to be honest, even if that results in a negative review.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Book Blogger Hop, book meme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Negative reviews are far more complicated than actually writing a review.

  2. If I don’t like something, I don’t like it. I say it and explain why I don’t like it. And, then, like you I talk about the positives. I think as long as we’re honest, whatever we say is our opinion and that’s that.

  3. Stop by my blog for my answer. Your answer makes sense. 🙂

    Stopping by from The Book Blogger Hop.

    Stop by my blog if you like.

    A giveaway going on at my blog:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2012/05/review-and-giveaway-of-story-of-west-by.html

    Elizabeth

    Silver’s Reviews

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  4. I am following you on Goodreads and G+. Hope you can follow me.

    http://itstimetoreadmamaw.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

