Booking Through Thursday – Ever written a book?

How is it possibly possible that a short week can feel so bloody long! I can’t believe it’s only Thursday. It should be Friday. This is the longest week ever and we weren’t even at work on Monday. (Memorial Day. It rained. I stayed inside and read.) Ugh. There is some sort of time bubble going on here. I know it. However, it is time for Booking Through Thursday! Enough procrastinating! Let’s book it!

Our prompt for this week is: If you could write a book, what would it be about, and why? (Though, of course, some of you already HAVE.)

I’m a wanna-be writer. (hangs head in shame) I have lots of ideas but rarely ever finish things. I do write fanfiction and I’ve finished a great many of those stories. But for every fanfiction story I finish, there are about 3 others languishing as half done or just a nice idea. It’s the same way with original fiction. Every year in November, I participate in National Novel Writing Month. NaNo, for short, is a month long game, I guess you could call it, where writers write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Or at least we try to. I’ve participated the last 5 years and I’ve reached the 50K mark 3 times. These stories are at least half done. But, inevitably, I lose interest or don’t know what to do with it after that and the story will languish in that state forever more. (headdesk) God, I suck…

Almost all of my fiction stories feature witches or some sort of paranormal element or character. During NaNo I’ve written a Banshee story, 3 different witch stories, and one ghost story told from the ghost’s point of view. I have no shortage of ideas; I just lack a drive. Maybe I need a cheerleader? Somebody to crack that whip and make me finish things! This is probably why I’m more likely to finish a fanfiction story than an original story because I post the fanfiction pieces on the internet. Even one comment is pretty much enough to keep me writing something. (See, dear fanfiction readers? Your comments do matter!) All of my stories are fantasy or paranormal.

Why? Well, that’s just how my mind works. I have a very active imagination. (An imagination I wished would slow down because it’s always racing to the next idea before I get a chance to finish with the current idea. I have the shortest attention span and I bore easily.) I read to escape. So the further away from the real world a book can take me, the better I like it. All my story ideas function the same. They are created for the sense of the fantastic and unreal. I don’t read much contemporary fiction for this reason. If I wanted realism, I’d stay here. But here is boring with work and bills and leaking faucets and humidity that is killing my hair. So, I read and write fantasy. As for why I write at all? Well, if I didn’t write at least some then I’m pretty sure my head would just explode and nobody wants to clean up that mess.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 31, 2012, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. LOL, yes, stamina really is a challenge when attempting to write a book 😉

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/05/booking-through-thursday_31.html

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      My mind skitters all over the place. It’s a mess up there. The first thing I ever wrote – a Sailor Moon fanfiction piece (I was like 12 or 13 when I started)- took me 3 years to finish. God, it seems so silly to take so long but I would write in fits and spurts. Writing should be an Olympic sport!

  2. Have you read Stephen King’s memoir On Writing…the first part is about him personally and how he became a writer…but the 2nd part is full of tips, things that he feels are important in the story as well as the writing process. I just finished it last night…it’s pretty good 🙂

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      Hm, no. I didn’t realize he had written any non-fiction. I might look it up to see if the second part can help my mess of a head stay on track!

  3. I’ve always wanted to try NaNo, but November is such a busy month. I wish it were in July or January!

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      I think they do November because the school kids get the whole week of Thanksgiving off while responsible adults get two days off of work (if they are lucky!) or just end up having to wrangle kids. This does not leave us adults much time! I’d prefer a summer month too, just because it would be nicer to write outside. You should try NaNo this year. Even if you have no hope of reaching 50K, it’s fun. Choose your region and see if anybody is hosting a write-in near you. I meet my best friend at my first write-in.

  4. Great answer. I totally agree with you about reading fantasy novels. Take me to another world, another place please! I’ve heard about NaNo and if I plan enough I might participate this year! 🙂

    http://lostinthought-becca.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/booking-through-thursday-1.html

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      Yes, you want to NaNo. Once you choose your region you can see if anybody is hosting a write-in near you (or host your own) and get to meet some awesome people while chugging along to 50K. Why plan for NaNo? The panic is half the fun! I think a lot of people read as an escape. I’d probably have a nervous breakdown if I didn’t have that outlet!

  5. Yep. And my agent’s subbing it at the moment. Cue nervous breakdown.

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      But that’s fantastic! Us hopeless dreamers with our heads in the clouds could only wish to get so far. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

