Musing Mondays – Reading Goals?

Monday and I are not on speaking terms today. I messed up my sleeping schedule Saturday afternoon by taking a nap and then went to bed so late on Saturday night it was actually Sunday morning and ended up sleeping until 4pm Sunday afternoon. So, I’ve been awake for about 12 hours because I couldn’t sleep at all when I tried early this morning. Thus, this post is written in a sleep deprived state. You have been warned. Time for Musing Mondays!

Out question for this week is: Do you have a reading goal for the year, such as __ books? Why or why not?

My blog-iversary is in July, so this New Years was the first chance I had to do a reading goal. I signed up for a couple reading challenges, including the First in a Series challenge. Then I wanted to do a personal book count challenge at the same time. I set my goal for a 100 books read this year. That was about 2 books per a week. I figured if I stuck to my guns I could read 2 books per a week with no problem. Life, they say, had other ideas. I quickly realized I was an idiot and that 100 books was just not going to happen. I dropped my goal by about half and now hope to reach 55 books read this year. As it is, I am woefully behind.

I read in fits and spurts and can sometimes devour 3 or 4 books in a week or languish over one book for the better part of a month. I’m flighty and bipolar like that. I was actually hoping that joining a few challenges would motivate me to read in a steady stream because of the sense of competition and community but I seem unable to change. I have the attention span of a gnat. Or a very small child.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The First in a Series Challenge sounds pretty interesting!

Leave a Reply

