Bookstore Feature: Main Street Books

Several weeks ago, I discovered a website that lists the indie bookstores in my area. The Saint Louis Independent Bookstore Alliance, which also hosted the ReadMOB for World Book Night back in April, lists indie bookstores from in the heart of the city to out in Saint Charles County, where I live. I hadn’t realized that there were so many bookstores in my area that weren’t Barnes & Noble or Borders. I quickly made a vow to visit each and every one of them and lend my support. I decided to start with the closest to me first and work my way out. So, I’m very pleased to present to you Main Street Books, a small bookshop in the tourist district of old town Saint Charles along the Missouri River.

It was a beautiful day, so the tourists were out in force. It took me forever to get a clear section of street so I could take this picture.

It’s a small place with three levels. There is a street level where most of the books are and then there is a balcony above that where the children’s books are kept. Up the stairs there was the young adult section squished in a narrow hallway, an airy living room setup, and a disused kitchen with books hidden in the cabinets.

Street level; picture taken from the balcony.

Main Street Books boasts that it specializes in Saint Louis authors, so there was a whole section of history books on the area and a small selection of fiction books from authors that lived here. I ended up buying a cookery book that focuses on the local herbs. (I didn’t even know Saint Louis had a Herb Society.) So far, I’ve made some awesome mint tea with it.

I ended up buying an Alice in Wonderland colors book for baby Allyson, my friend’s kid, and a copy of Le Petit Prince that I’ll wait a little longer to give her. Because every kid needs a copy of The Little Prince.

Children’s section on the balcony.

Upstairs.

The old fireplace.

I walked in with about $40 in my pocket, promising myself I wouldn’t spend more than that. Of course, I walked out with more than $100 worth of books. I picked up a copy of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern because it was on the front table and would not leave me alone. It was just sitting there, in all its shiny glory, whispering “buy me”. I was powerless. I also purchased Witch Catcher by Mary Downing Hahn (review next week!), The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen, The Teashop Girls by Laura Schaefer, Vintage Tea Party by Carolyn Caldicott with photos by Chris Caldicott (and I will admit that I bought it mostly for the pictures) as well as the Herbal Cookery book by the Saint Louis Herb Society. Whew! Bookstores are dangerous places for me.

I’m going to be in South City in Tower Grove Park tomorrow for the Pagan Picnic and, provided the heat doesn’t kill me first, I’ll make it a point to visit Dunaway Books at the same time. It’s used bookshop, so I’m hoping for some good prices. I’ve been known to walk out of used bookstores with a suitcase worth of books. If you’re in Saint Louis this weekend then why don’t you join us? See ya later!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 8, 2012, in books, bookstore feature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    I love this idea! Great to have a peek into smaller shops! PS. You sure know how to buy books!

  2. I am really really impress that i seen a place where there is a lot books and bookstore which they said it will gone soon because of other technology,Good luck on selling books for sure they are in a good price.

Leave a Reply

