In My Mailbox – June 12

A trip to a local indie bookstore the weekend before last yielded a small pile of books. I did not intend to buy so many but I apparently can’t be trusted in a bookstore by myself. I should have left my purse in the car and just taken the cash I meant to spend with me. I’m weak! Weak, I tell you!

Anyway, this week has seen added to my bookshelf…

The Teashop Girls by Laura Schaefer
The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen


Witch Catcher by Mary Downing Hahn (I have finished this and need to get off my butt and write the review.)
Vintage Tea Party by Carolyn Caldicott with photos by Chris Caldicott

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (I’m about 150 pages into it and frustrated with the slow pace.)

I also picked up two books for my friend Jamie’s young 14 month old daughter, Allyson.

The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupery
Alice in Wonderland: a colors primer by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver

(I might wait a few years to give her The Little Prince. I don’t want her to destroy it and every child needs a copy of The Little Prince.)

Plus a book of Herbal Cookery by the Saint Louis Herb Society from which I’ve already made great mint tea from.

I’m planning another trip to a different indie bookstore this weekend, this one a used bookstore. I’m fairly certain this will not end well for my budget. See ya!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 12, 2012, in book meme, books, In My Mailbox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ooh so many cute books! I love the cat on the Alice and Wonderland book – and, of course, the cat in the mailbox!

  2. I feel like I “should” read The Night Circus but the premise doesn’t even interest me 😦 I’ll be looking forward to your final consensus.

  3. Yea.. I too found The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern slow. I will pop my URL in so you don’t have to sort through to find my review. IF U get bored and wanna pop over to see it. 😉 http://booknerdette.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/the-night-circus-by-erin-morgenstern/

    I also bought and gathered books for my daughter that I believed she should have… and now I have an 18yr old book lover. So keep it up.. they feed off of your passions. 😀

  4. I don’t know how I missed this last week! Anyhoo…I think it is a record…the first time I have seen an IMM and can say that I would want each and every book! lol

    I’m in the middle of listening to The Night Circus now!

Leave a comment