Book Review: Witch Catcher by Mary Downing Hahn

Whoa, it’s been awhile since I had a book review up. I need to get back into the game. I picked up a bunch of books during my trip to Main Street Books a few weekends ago and I really need to get cracking on them. In fact, I believe they would be perfect for the Wicked Wildfire Readathon starting up on Wednesday. For today, I’ve got the review of Witch Catcher by Mary Downing Hahn for you all. This review is going to be fast and dirty. You’ve been warned.

Summary from Goodreads:
When her widower father inherits a castle-like estate in the mountains of West Virginia, 12-year-old Jen is thrilled. It seems like a wish come true. But she quickly realizes that not all change is positive. Her dad has a mysterious new girlfriend, Moura, who slowly drives a wedge between Jen and her father. Furthermore, Moura has an unusually strong—almost obsessive—interest in the antiques that fill the mansion, especially a beautiful glass globe that Jen finds hanging in a window. When Jen’s cat accidentally breaks the globe, which Moura calls a “witch catcher,” strange things begin to happen….

Witch Catcher was another of those books that tells a classic fairytale, emphasis on the fairy. Like with Witch Hill by Marcus Sedgwick that I reviewed a few weeks ago, Witch Catcher gives us a story that is embedded in our collective psyche. It feels familiar, reaching back into oral tradition. The intrepid heroine faced with danger to her family and a new friend in need of help, rising above herself and becoming more than she ever thought she could have been. This is the story where magic invades everyday life and those are the best fairytales.

I adore the characters, especially the aunts. The fairies are well done and I liked how even they weren’t completely good. I’ve studied some Fae lore, and that little fact right there made the whole book for me. Witch Catcher by Mary Downing Hahn was a pleasure to read. It’s simple and the plot is as old as time, but it’s a good book for the nostalgia factor. Don’t expect to be wowed but it’s a solid story with likeable characters. It’s a story you’ve heard before but still speaks to the place deep inside that still believes in magic. I’d recommend it for a lazy evening read.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 18, 2012, in book review, fiction, modern fairy tale and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    Sounds like a fun read:)

  1. Pingback: Friday Ramble (3/22/13) | Lady With Books

Leave a Reply

