Wicked Wildfire Readathon! (Sign up post)

The Wicked Wildfire Readathon starts tomorrow and I really need a readathon to get caught up on some books. After my trip to Main Street Books a few weekends ago I have a pile of to be read books that are giving me the hairy eyeball. I don’t usually have books sitting around waiting, since I really prefer getting books from the library, and I need to get these books read. (I won’t allow myself to buy new books unless I’ve read the books I’ve already bought. Bookshops are dangerous places. There must be rules or all else is chaos.)

Wicked Wildfire Read-A-Thon

The readathon starts Wednesday, June 20th and runs through Sunday, June 24th. It’s a long readathon. My last readathon during winter was only three days. I hope I can keep up for five days!

My plans are to finish reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern first. I’m on page 150 at this moment but the book is so slow that I’ve been reading it in fits and starts for the past couple of weeks. I’m hoping that a concentrated read will haul me over the imaginary hump and get that book read.

(Exactly what are my problems with The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern? Here are my first thoughts on the book. One, it is much too slow. I’m already 150 pages in and we’ve only dipped our toes into the night circus. By this point things should be happening and they just aren’t. Two, so far the book has been driven by imagery more than plot. Very pretty but without any substance. Three, there are too many characters. We are being yanked through too many views and too many side plots. The main characters should be Marco and Celia and they just aren’t presented that way.)

When I finish The Night Circus, I’ll read The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen. If I finish that, I’ll read The Teashop Girls by Laura Schaefer.

I think three books is a good goal. I can’t see myself reading much more, since I’ll be working during the week. I’m hoping to knock out these three books but I’ll be happy if I get done with The Night Circus. All I have to do is stay off the internet and I should be golden. (I’m doomed.) Happy reading everybody!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in books, first thoughts, reading now and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love the covers of every book you choose and the meme for this read-a-thon! Good luck with all of them. I think I would like The Night Circus because I love pretty, without plot. I’m one of THOSE readers. : )

  2. Hmm I hadn’t heard of this read-a-thon, I’ll have to check it out. And do stick with The Night Circus! I thought it was such a vivid story (as you point out there is a LOT of imagery). 🙂

  3. Hello! I joined, spent the evening setting up. I’ve been subscribed to you a few months (bold hint, LOL) and heard of it in this post. We have subject matter in common. You may like my musings. Happy marathon reading! I asked if you were in Canada. You mentioned a title from Thunder Bay, Ontario. http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/im-joining-a-read-a-thon/

    • Patricia @ Lady with Books

      Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake was set in Thunder Bay, Ontario. I, however, live down in the United States. I live in Missouri, near Saint Louis. I’m glad you decided to join the Wicked Wildfire Readathon! I did the readathon back in winter and had a great time. I’m getting behind on my reading and need a push.

Leave a Reply

