Wicked Wildfire Read-a-thon – Challenge 1

Alright, day number one and challenge number one.

Wicked Wildfire Read-A-Thon

I would like to say that I am starting this readathon on page 163 of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. At the very least, I would like to finish this book for the readathon. Figures crossed. I’m a horrible procrastinator and the internet is a fascinating place.

For this first challenge from Kindle Fever, we are posed a question: “A wildfire is quickly coming your way! What thing/s do you grab when you only have a few minutes to make it out?” (I’ve saved any people or pets in there already!)

Umm, let’s see. (Provided that the pets are safe already, as stated in the question.) I’d grab the big pink case I keep all my important documents in, my purse (which should already have my cell phone and wallet in there), and my laptop. On top of that, I’d grab my scrapbooks and photo albums. They have all my family pictures and all of my Grandmother’s letters and little scribbles. Then I’d grab the pottery she also made, the two white turtle doves from the shelf and the mushroom shaped pot. Those would be the things I’d worry about if I had to leave them behind.

(I’ve never been in a fire but we were once almost hit by a tornado. We had to flee to the basement and the most frightening thing was that I was only able to find one of my cats. I took Little Bit to the basement but couldn’t find Boots. She had tucked herself up in my parents’ closest and I couldn’t find her before I was dragged off to the basement myself. We were fine and I tore the house apart looking for her afterward. I’ve never been so happy to find two wide yellow eyes staring back at me from my Mother’s pants.)

Good luck with the readathon everybody!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 20, 2012, in books, reading now and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

