Wicked Wildfire Readathon – End Post

(falls face first into her pillows and groans) I didn’t realize there was another challenge on Sunday and completely spaced. That’s another challenge I missed. Oh well.

I didn’t get much reading done. I wanted to at least finish The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern but for some darn reason I just can’t get into it. Everybody says this book is great but I’m just not feeling it. Celia and Marco had just met when I last stopped reading, close to the 200 page mark, so I’m hoping that thinks will pick up. I promised myself I would finish that book for the readathon and just wasn’t able to deliver. Nuts.

I started The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen and by the end of Sunday night I was on page 78. Tisk tisk. I didn’t get much reading done for this readathon. I think I read about 150 pages altogether. (In my defense, I read several things online, wrote, edited one of my own stories, and then acted as beta reader for one of my friends. I read tons the past 5 days. Just not published books.)

I missed two of the challenges, mostly because I wasn’t paying enough attention. Bummer. But I did manage to join the Saturday night Twitter Party and had a blast. It went by so fast! Luck was with me and I was one of the winners for the evening. A $5 gift card for Barnes & Noble. I know just want to spend it on too. I’m going to pick up my own copy of Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendera Blake. It’s still my favorite book this year.

(I need caffeine. I’m so tired, I can’t see straight.)

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 25, 2012, in books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    I didn’t have the best of luck getting thru my books either…but did have fun…so…I think that’s all that matters. I hope that The Night Circus picks up for you. I also found it very slow going at first…and to be honest…it never really picked up pace…but I just sort of started not minding. Hard to describe…I am still formulating thoughts for my review.

  2. Hey, you did what you could…and you won something, so that’s fun! 🙂 There are always other readathons happening too!

  3. I’m amazed with 30 comments after a year. hehehe Reading events finally raise followers. New ones I’m in are fantastic. If you saw my summary, I wonder if we share impressions of Wicked Wildfire. Great people but I scarcely read.

    Today is July 1st so I’d like show you a post about my home town. I hope all is well in Missouri. Wonderfully hot here and there will be fireworks tonight. Happy Canada Day! http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/my-home-and-native-land/

Leave a Reply

