Book Blogger Hop – July 13

Book Blogger Hop

I usually pick and choose which Friday blog hops I’m going to do but since I liked this question, I’m also going to do Jen’s Book Bloggers Hop too. I don’t want to spam readers with a bunch of meme stuff. Oh well. You’ll all live, I’m sure.

The question is: How long does it take you to read a book?

Depends on the book. I’ve been known to devour books in an afternoon. A lazy Saturday and the right book and I can be done by dinner. It’s been awhile since I’ve done that though. My recent favorite book, Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake, took me three days to read. Last year’s favorite Witchlanders by Lena Coakley took about the same. But full-time jobs can do that to a person. I read those during the week. (I don’t like to be caught reading a book at work. It gives the wrong impression. I’ll read back in the lunchroom but even if it’s dead still in the office I won’t read at my desk. I’m paranoid.) Normally, it takes about a week for me to finish a book. Longer if I’m just not that into it. I’ve been trying to read The Night Circus by Erin Morgestern for a month and a half now. It’s not that it’s badly written, it’s beautiful, but it’s just not drawing me in. (shrug)

I normally read books that are just shy of 300 pages and up to 400 pages. Anything bigger has a habit of dragging and I lose interest. I know me. I have the attention span of a gnat sometimes. A book 400 pages long is pretty much my limit. The longest it ever took me to read something was the Lord of the Rings books the second time but that was because the second read-through was for research purposes and I was highlighting and taking notes. I have a whole notebook with information about events, locations, and characters from the Lord of the Rings. That took me several weeks because I was a teen and it was summer. (I have told you all I have an obsessive personality, right? Because I’m crazy like that.)

Also, Happy Friday the 13th everybody!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 13, 2012, in Book Blogger Hop, book meme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

