Feature & Follow – #105

I’ve been a bit of a lazy good for nothing the last two weeks. After the Wicked Wildfire Readathon I could feel several synapses in my brain break and then the regular receptionist took the week of the 4th off and I had to do phones and that just means I hated the universe for the duration. I hate phones. In other words, I needed a moment to clear my head. I need to write two book reviews, as I was still reading during this period, but that’s next week. For now, I thought I’d participate in Parajunkee and Alison Can Read’s Feature & Follow for some fun. Thank god it’s Friday.

Our question this week is: What drove you to start book blogging in the first place?

It was a whim. I have a lot of whims. They usually last for a few months to a year and then I have a new whim. It’s a vicious cycle. (Speaking of which, my one year anniversary is on July 18th. I should do something. I think I’ll hold a raffle or something. Yeah, check back here on Wednesday.) I’ve always had an online journal that I posted my writing to and then I broke off a different journal for my personal ramblings. I’ve been blogging in some form for over 15 years now, mostly in fandom for various books, movies, and TV shows I’m obsessed with. (I have a very obsessive personality. I will fixate on something until I exhausted it.) About two years ago I helped with a news blog, sort of a witty sarcastic thing that got old fast for me. I loved blogging but I had trouble focusing my attention. Then I hit upon book blogs and found another whim.

I’d always loved to read. I’ve always loved to blog. Bingo was his name-o, book blog. And it’s been one long trip in a hand-basket ever since. To tell the truth, I didn’t realize that the book blogging community was so effing huge. I might have been a little more intimidated if I had known just how many book blogs there were. I’m sure I’ll never stack up to them. Some blog are gorgeous things and I shudder to think about the amount of money some of you must sink into your blogs. I don’t have the cash for that. I’m cheap. And I have no art skills and no desire to figure out a computer art program. I can just about half-ass PhotoShop and that’s it. But I like the sheer amount of information book bloggers pass to their readers and I’ve made a couple friends alone the way. Not bad for a whim, if I do say so myself.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 13, 2012, in book meme, Follow Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Haha! What a great reply! I also have different fads… I think this one will be more lasting than my other ones though!

    New follower via Linky.

    Come hop over to my new blog, Ensconced in YA!
    http://cahreviews.blogspot.com

  2. Not bad for a whim at all! And no, no! Your blog is very pretty! and I love your signature ❤ Thank you for stopping by! New Linky follower ^_^

  3. Haha, I can’t stick with anything either. But book blogging is something different 🙂

    New follower!

    http://bookdoll.blogspot.com/2012/07/feature-and-follow-friday-is-weekly.html#comment-form

  4. I don’t sink a lot of money into my blog either. I bought a domain name and that’s been it so far. I did my own graphics & such. And I agree the size of the community is a little intimidating at time. I think most of us had no idea what we were really getting into!

    My follow friday! Please visit!

  5. I’d start everyday blogs on a whim, but I never managed to keep up with them after a few weeks. My book blog started the same way, but I absolutely love it and the book blogging community, I can’t even imagine NOT doing it anymore!

    Here’s my FF

  6. 🙂 great answer, and I hope you’ll stay around after the one-year-blogaversary 🙂

    I’m a new follower, and here’s my FF post if you want to find out why I recently started to blog.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. Haha very nice answer! I just started following you via email. (: Here is my FF:
    http://cheerfulreviews.blogspot.com/2012/07/feature-follow.html

Leave a Reply

