Feature & Follow – # 109

I got a cold earlier this week. By Wednesday it felt like I was swallowing glass. I felt a bit better on Thursday but today I’m on phones all day long and a lot of talking still makes me cough. I’m tired and cranky and congested and I hate the universe and I just want to go home and sleep. It’s a not really great Friday and time for the Feature and Follow. (Because I’m a dedicated book blogger, darn it, and I will post even while sick!)

Our question this week is: What would you do over if you were to start your blog again from scratch?

For some reason I got it in my head that I didn’t really like Blogger, the blog platform hosted by Google, and switched my personal blog over to WordPress sometime early last year. So when I had my idea for a book blog last June, I put it up on WordPress. Now that I’ve had a chance to really use WordPress and tinker, I wish I’d stayed with Blogger. Don’t get me wrong! WordPress is fine. But it’s not as flexible as Blogger and not being able to use Java Script on the blog is really beginning to piss me off. I see a lot more Blogger hosted blogs than I see WordPress hosted blogs.

I know what you’re thinking. Why don’t I just export/import my blog over to Blogger? God, I wish it was as easy as that! But that never works 100% correctly and the thought of going back over a year’s worth of posts and fixing all those little mistakes makes my soul shudder. And I would have to fix all those little mistakes because I’m a perfectionist and leaving it messed up would drive me slowly insane. I thought about moving from the free WordPress site to the paid hosting but I’m pretty sure you have to download an editor then and that means I wouldn’t be able to post from work because there is no way IT would let me keep a blog editor on my computer and about 99% of my blogging gets done at work. I’m damned if I do and damned if I don’t.

What do you think I should do? Should I just bite the bullet and move to Blogger, knowing it would take me forever to fix everything? Is there another option? I’d really hate to have to spend money for hosting on a third party site and I’m not very tech savvy. Where do you host your blog?

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on August 10, 2012, in book meme, Follow Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Get well soon! I host Starry Storm on blogger so I don’t have much advice. Try asking Parajunkee, or look up past experiences of others. I would hate having to go back too since I am also a perfectionist. I hope everything works out in the end! New follower.

  2. Yeah, I’m not a huge fan of WordPress either. I had another blog on it and I had to switch.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/08/follow-friday_10.html

  3. Hi! Your answer was great!(: I’m a new blogger! Mind checking out my blog?(: And maybe possibly follow?(x I’ve heard a lot of people saying that they wished they’d never moved to wordpress! I guess I won’t be getting it!

    New follower!
    simple-books.blogspot.com

  4. Blogger is a booger, that’s for sure! As for me, I think I’d probably learn a bit more about blogger and HTML coding before starting. Love blogging but the actual blogging part wasn’t easy to learn!

    Have a lovely week 🙂
    The Brunette Librarian’s FF & a special giveaway 🙂

  5. It’s funny you say that, because I feel like all I hear about are people with blogs hosted on Blogger wishing that they had started on WordPress instead! I guess there’s pros and cons to both of them.

    New follower from the blog hop!
    http://thefictionconniption.blogspot.com/2012/08/feature-and-follow-friday-4.html

  6. I had that issue so in the end I moved to blogger. New follower via Linky : )

    Here is my FF

Leave a Reply

