FrightFall Read-a-thon End post.

I ended up being monstrously sick over the weekend. Like “kill me now, please” type of sick where I couldn’t keep anything in me. As such, I didn’t get much done. I completely forgot about the FrightFall Read-a-thon, although I did manage to finish two books. I think I’m too late for the end post to count but I’ll put it up anyway. I’m sorry to say I don’t have a book review ready for today, so you’ll have to be patient for that. I might have time to type up one before the end of the day or I might just include two next week. We’ll see.

But, for the FrightFall Read-a-thon I finished:

Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake. (332 pages) It was still great and I’m still impressed with the characters and writing but it wasn’t as punchy as Anna Dressed in Blood. I rarely love a sequel as much as I love an original and that holds true for this book as well. Still, pretty great and well worth the read.

Give Up the Ghost by Megan Crewe. (241 pages) Teenagers, meh. I liked it and it was a quick read. I managed to finish it in just one day in-between bouts of throwing up in the toilet and moaning while curled up at the bottom of my shower (Yes, I was that type of sick.), but it felt unfinished. There are several issues left hanging and questions unanswered. I’m going to put this one at just above “okay” level.

Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey. I’m about 50 pages into it and already adore the pieces of out it. Victorian con-woman playing mediums! What’s not to love? I think the so-called “romance” might irritate me like usual but everything else is shaping up to be good. We shall see.

Altogether, the tally rings up at two books and 623 pages read for the FrightFall Read-a-thon. Not bad for someone dying of the stomach flu. I hope everyone enjoying the Just A Picture posts yesterday (which I was lucky enough to have scheduled before I got sick) and I hope you all stick around for the Trick or Treat posts tomorrow. I’ll be showcasing several things I’ve finished over the weeks. See ya!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on October 9, 2012, in books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

