Something Wicked Comes Giveaway Hop

Welcome and thank you for stopping by! This is my entry for the Something Wicked Comes giveaway blog hop. From me you may win one copy of Silence by Michelle Sagara. (Please read the rules and then click HERE to enter.)

Silence by Michelle Sagara

It began in the graveyard…

Ever since her boyfriend Nathan had died in a tragic accident, Emma had been coming to the graveyard at night.  During the day she went through the motions at her prep school, in class, with her friends, but that’s all it was.  For Emma, life had stopped with Nathan’s death.  But tonight was different.  Tonight Emma and her dog were not alone in the cemetery.  There were two others there—Eric, who had just started at her school, and an ancient woman who looked as though she were made of rags.  And when they saw Emma there, the old woman reached out to her with a grip as chilling as death…

Emma was not quite like others teenagers. It was true that other girls had experienced grief.  Other girls had also lost their fathers, or had their boyfriends die in a senseless accident. But though she hadn’t known it till that night in the graveyard, unlike those other girls, she could see, touch, and speak with the dead.  In fact, Emma could draw upon the essence of the dead to work magic.  That was what Necromancers did. But Emma had no desire to be a Necromancer. She just wanted to help the ghosts who walked the streets of Toronto, unable to escape from the land of the living.  And that was just as well, because had she chosen the path of the Necromancer, Eric would have had to kill her.

Instead, Eric and his fellow Necromancer hunter Chase found themselves violating every rule they were sworn to follow, becoming part of Emma’s group, helping her to stand against those who preyed upon the dead.  But whether Emma and her friends could survive such a battle was anyone’s guess.  And whether Emma could learn to use the magic of the dead against her enemies without herself falling victim to the lure of such power remained to be seen.  Eric seemed to think she could, and her living friends would never abandon her.  But only time would tell what Emma’s true destiny was…

You can read my review of Silence by Michelle Sagara here.

Rules:
1) Contest is open to U.S. only.
2) Contest is open from October 14 to November 1. So through Halloween.
3) You may enter once.
4) I require only that you follow me. I don’t care how. You can follow my Twitter, Google+, Linky Followers, Email Subscription, RSS, or through WordPress if you so desire. Follow me however you want and in the extra info put which method you followed me and under what username if different from log in. All follow options can be found on the right sidebar.
5) Winner must have valid email address. Failure to respond within 72 hours (3 days) will result in a new winner being chosen.
6) I reserve the right to somehow mess this up and/or do something stupid. Possibly both.

Please comment with any questions, bugs, or rants. Let the madness begin!

Because WordPress is a snot, I cannot paste the raffle widget here.

Please click here to enter giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Thank you!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on October 13, 2012, in books, giveaway and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I love all spooky stories, but the bests are the ones that actually scare me. Unfortunately I haven’t come across any yet, but I’m hoping to soon! Thanks for the giveaway, new follower. 😀

  2. I have heard some great things about this one and a book that starts in a graveyard and has ghosts and necromancers is exciting. Thank you for being a part of Something Wicked! Hmm…favorite spooky read would probably be IT by Stephen King.

  3. My favorite spooky story would be Maybe This Time by Jennifer Crusie oh and The Regulators by Richard Bachman 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  4. My favorite spooky stories are the ones that are based on truth.

  5. I love all kinds of spooky stories. One of my favorites is Bag of Bones.

  6. Hi, there!

    I’ve just entered your fabulous giveaway!! I haven’t heard of this book before, but love what I’ve read about the plot so far. Very, very intriguing!! So thank you so much for offering it in a giveaway!

    I’m not into ‘spooky stories’, actually. I don’t like the horror genre AT ALL. Paradoxical, eh? I do ADORE supernatural stories, but they must contain romance. Absolutely! So of course I love paranormal romance. (I also love urban fantasy.)

    So I’ll tell you about my all-time favorite supernatural romance. I found this book years ago, when I was a teen, in a library. Later on, I bought the book for my very own, and treasure it to this day! Unfortunately, it’s currently out of print, but if you can get it somehow, it would be well worth it. It’s a BEAUTIFUL story!!

    The plot deals with a 17-year-old girl named Sabrina, who goes ‘on holiday’, as they call it in England. She, her father, and her aunt (who has an annoying little dog), decide to rent a house in the English countryside for the summer. Meanwhile, a British spy naned Hilary (a man) has been shot down while flying over India on a mission for the British crown. Well, he dies, and his spirit is pulled back to England, to a certain house in the English countryside…

    Sabrina never sees Hilary, but she can feel his presence. She first finds out about him because there’s a locked room in the house that no one is allowed to enter. Of course, she picks the lock. Gradually, through the room’s objects and Hilary’s letters, she finds out more and more about the room’s former occupant, and falls head over heels in love with him… Hilary, when he returns and sees Sabrina, also falls in love with her.

    This is such a wonderful, BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL story!!!!! I totally recommend this book to you!! The title is “Tryst”, and it was first published in 1939. The author’s name is Eslwyth Thane. I have never ever forgotten this poignant love story…It has stayed with me much as two other favorites, “Jane Eyre” and The Twilight Saga, have.

    So I hope you’re able to find this book!! If you can’t buy it (it IS expensive, since it’s out of print), then at least try to get it from your public library, and read it. I guarantee that you’ll be TOTALLY ENTHRALLED!!!

    Okay, I’m done! Lol.

    Happy reading, and Happy Halloween!! : )

  7. ThePixieSprinkles

    Hmm hard to pick just one spooky story! lol I really like Anna Dressed in Blood and I read that recently. Thanks for the chance to win! =)

  8. My favorite spooky stories are urban myths because you never know for sure if they are based on truth or fiction!!

  9. Thank you for this amazing giveaway! I’d love to read this book! I don’t usually read spooky books but I’d read this one. Thank you for the chance to win!

  10. Maritza Robinson

    My favorite spooky stories are of other peoples ghostly encounters. Thanks for this great giveaway!

Leave a Reply

