Wishlist Wednesday #61 (11/7/12)

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it’s entirely up to you), that we can’t wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

Croak by Gina Damico
Published March 20th 2012 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex’s parents ship her off to upstate New York to live with her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape.

But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure. He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’s going to teach Lex the family business.

She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can’t stop her desire for justice – or is it vengeance? – whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again.

Will she ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?

I added this one to my wish list back in the spring. I think I found it when reading a review for it on another book blog. Croak has one of my guilty pleasures – grim reapers or some type of death figure. Yes, I’m weird. I freely admit I’m weird. There used to be a TV show called Dead Like Me that I adored but it didn’t last very long. Most books that have persons with powers over death or have a function like grim reapers, that is they release or ferry souls to the other side, are fascinating to me. Maybe because reading about these characters makes what should be a scary image seem more human. Suddenly that grinning skull figure is having boy problems and has to deal with math homework. I find it an amusing juxtaposition.

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in book meme, books, Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Even though I don’t do grim stuff, this book looks really good! I just might have to add it to my pile.

  2. I’ve heard a lot about the series, hope we both get to read it very soon 🙂

    My WW.

  3. I’ve been wanting to read this one too. Especially since the second book has already come out. Hope you get to read it soon.

    My WW:
    http://booksojourner.blogspot.com/2012/11/wishlist-wednesday-1-endlessly.html

  4. I LOVE Croak. I just got Scorch in the mail but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet.
    Kristin @Book Sniffers Anonymous

Leave a Reply

