Wishlist Wednesday #63 (11/21/12)

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it’s entirely up to you), that we can’t wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

Damsel Under Stress by Shanna Swendson

To-do: Stop the bad guys. Rescue the wizard. Find the perfect outfit for New Year’s Eve.

At last, Owen Palmer, the dreamboat wizard at Magic, Spells, and Illusions, Inc., has conjured up the courage to get Katie Chandler under the mistletoe at the office holiday party. But just when it looks like Katie has found her prince, in pops her inept fairy godmother, Ethelinda, to throw a wand into the works. Ethelinda’s timing couldn’t be worse. A plot hatched by MSI’s rogue ex-employees, Idris and his evil fairy gal pal Ari, threatens to expose the company’s secrets–and the very existence of magic itself. Even worse, it could also mean the end of Katie’s happily-ever-after.

Now Katie and Owen must work side by side (but alas, not cheek to cheek) to thwart the villains’ plans. Braving black-magic-wielding sorceresses, subway-dwelling dragons, lovelorn frog princes, and even the dreaded trip to meet Owen’s parents at Christmas, Katie and her beau are in a battle to beat Idris at his own sinister game. All mischief and matters of the heart will come to a head at a big New Year’s Eve gala, when the crystal ball will drop, champagne will pour, and Katie will find herself truly spellbound.

I love the concept of these books. Katie and other people like her are immune to magic. So spells and illusions don’t work on her and she can see any little tricks that the magical community might be trying to pull over on each other, like special clauses in contracts and loop holes in laws. I read the first two books years ago, when I was still a teen, and I was thrilled to learn there were more. My only problem is that I’d probably need to reread the first two books to jog the memory about the characters and plot. I just haven’t gotten off my butt and done that yet. So, Damsel Under Stress languishes on my to be read pile. What a world! What a world! (green puddle of witch)

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 21, 2012, in book meme, Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I haven’t heard of this book before, but it actually sounds pretty good.

    Janina
    My WW!

  2. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    This series sounds adorable and fun!

  3. I’ve seen her books floating around but I have yet to pick one up. They do sound like a fun read.

  4. This book sounds like a fun read! I have to add it myself. Hope you get it soon 🙂

    My WW

  5. I haven’t heard of this! I hope its fabulous when you get your hands on it

    Here is my WW
    Lauren

  6. I haven’t heard of these before but they sound really cute. Hope you get to read it soon.

    My WW:
    http://booksojourner.blogspot.com/2012/11/wishlist-wednesday-3-once.html

  7. Sounds like fun! Enjoy!

    Lisa
    My WW

Leave a Reply

