Author Feature: Neil Gaiman

favortieauthorslogoAs readers, we have our favorite authors. Some of them we go back to again and again and get incredibly excited when news of a new book by those authors reaches us. Whether is a set of characters we adore, a type of writing style we like, or merely a genre the author writes in that we enjoy, we all have our reasons for liking our favorite authors. This post will feature one of my favorite authors, what I like about the, and a couple book I would suggest to other readers.

borderswish

Neil Gaiman

Gaiman is an author of both short fiction stories and longer fiction novels and I really enjoy both from him. His short stories anthology M is for Magic is one of my favorite books that I have on audio. Gaiman writes fantasy and sci-fi and his stories are always amazing and very original. He has a way of storytelling that I just adore. People have called his work fairy tales for adults and his writing style has this smooth, quirky, and witty turn of phrase that is sometimes hilarious and sometimes emotional wrecking. It’s a way of expressing emotions and thoughts that is incredibly entertaining and inventive. There is always something surprising about his stories and his books are quite an adventure. Gaiman’s works also have a disturbing undertone that is so subtle you are not quite sure why you are creeped out while reading. He’s a master writer and storyteller.

Favorite Book: The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book came out in 2008 and is one of those rare books that I loved so much I bought my own copy back when I was even more broke than I am now. It’s not one I’ve reviewed on this blog (It’s been years since I’ve read it and I’d need to do a reread to do justice to a review.) but I’d say it’s the book I’ve suggest for a person new to Neil Gaiman. Several of his books have been turned into movies. Coraline (book 2006 and movie 2009) is one that became a movie. The book and movie were both great. Stardust (book 2006 and movie 2007) is another. In my opinion, the book was better than the movie but both are worth checking out. MirrorMash (book 2005 and movie 2005) is a lesser known work. I’ve seen the movie but not read the book but the movie was fantastic. They are a bit hard to find but if you can get them his The Sandman graphic novels are amazing. Gaiman is a man of many talents.

borderswish

graveyard-bookThe Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family…

My favorite quote by Neil Gaiman:

“Have you ever been in love? Horrible isn’t it? It makes you so vulnerable. It opens your chest and it opens up your heart and it means that someone can get inside you and mess you up. You build up all these defenses, you build up a whole suit of armor, so that nothing can hurt you, then one stupid person, no different from any other stupid person, wanders into your stupid life…You give them a piece of you. They didn’t ask for it. They did something dumb one day, like kiss you or smile at you, and then your life isn’t your own anymore. Love takes hostages. It gets inside you. It eats you out and leaves you crying in the darkness, so simple a phrase like ‘maybe we should be just friends’ turns into a glass splinter working its way into your heart. It hurts. Not just in the imagination. Not just in the mind. It’s a soul-hurt, a real gets-inside-you-and-rips-you-apart pain. I hate love.”

signature patricia1

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 10, 2012, in author feature, books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

