Friday Ramble #2 (12/14/12)

sickWelcome back to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life for the past week. Right now, I am sick. Coughing, sneezing, sore throat, the whole nine yards. I started feeling yucky on Wednesday and by Thursday morning it was a full blown cold. I started taking Cold-Eeze and I just hope it doesn’t ruin the weekend. I have a Yule potluck gathering on Saturday that I’m not sure I’m going to have the energy to deal with. It’s being held down in Affton and that’s a bit of a drive for me. Plus I don’t handle people well when I’m not feeling good. Oh, the joys of being an introvert. Other people exhaust me. This is why I prefer books. Then I have to make cookies on Sunday for the Cookie Exchange at work on Monday. Of course, I don’t have any more time to take off so I’m at work right now. I enjoy spreading my cold germs around. It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling. I plan to be the vector for the newest influenza epidemic.

grinchChristmas is only 10 days away. People are constantly asking if I’ve gotten my shopping done yet. I don’t shop and I don’t buy things for Christmas. I have two friends that I’m close enough to to buy gifts for and one of them I have an agreement with and the other, well, let’s just say that the last thing she needs is to worry about buying Christmas present for her friends. She has enough things to worry about. (She also still owes me money from helping her out with that little DWI problem earlier this year.) The other friend I have an agreement with that we just go out one night and have fun. That’s our Christmas present to each other. I have a small family, just my parents and my brother. We don’t really do the whole present thing anymore. We have dinner, maybe watch a movie or something, and then call it a day. Yes, I know. Bah humbug.

I did go out last Saturday with Jamie and her little daughter Allyson to Historic Main Street in Saint Charles. They have a type of Christmas festival going on in December with drummers and dressed up characters. There’s even a parade and carolers. It was very nice. Allyson choked on a sucker and was afraid of the Ice Queen. Then she fell asleep and Jamie and I had gelato in the cold. Because we’re crazy like that. Of course, since we had the stroller we couldn’t actually go into any of the shops and the one I did go into I had to leave Jamie and the rugrat out on the street. (eyeroll) I don’t understand why people have children and Jamie is pregnant again with her second child. Parenthood is not for me, I can tell you that much.

On Monday I posted my first Favorite Author feature. I hope to continue to do author posts on Mondays and then book reviews on Tuesdays. At least, when I finally get off my butt and finish reading another book so I can review it. I seem to be going through a slump. Then on Wednesdays I’ll continue the Wishlist Wednesday posts and on Fridays will be the Friday Ramble and I might post one of the Friday question memes if the questions are interesting. None of the questions are interesting this week. I’m guessing you couldn’t care less about what bookmark I’m using right now. Yeah, I thought so.

So, that’s it for me for this week. Happy reading, everybody.

signature patricia1

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 14, 2012, in about the blogger, Friday Ramble and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

