Favorite Books of 2012

We only have a couple days left before New Year’s and the first frenzied start to 2013. I’m sure we’re all finalizing our plans for the upcoming year and thinking up some New Year’s resolutions we won’t keep. (I know I have more than a few projects I need to finish up and also get started.) Let’s look back and see what the last year has brought us.

border2

Favorite Book

I Hunt KillersI Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga
Published April 3rd 2012 by Little, Brown and Company

What if the world’s worst serial killer…was your dad?

Jasper “Jazz” Dent is a likable teenager. A charmer, one might say.

But he’s also the son of the world’s most infamous serial killer, and for Dear Old Dad, Take Your Son to Work Day was year-round. Jazz has witnessed crime scenes the way cops wish they could—from the criminal’s point of view.

And now bodies are piling up in Lobo’s Nod.

In an effort to clear his name, Jazz joins the police in a hunt for a new serial killer. But Jazz has a secret—could he be more like his father than anyone knows?

border2

I can still remember how I was blown away by this original take on the classic mystery novel. Jazz and his position was fascinating and it was unlike any YA book I’d read last year. When most YA books are just ho-hum and not very unique, it was great to find a book that broke the mold. Click over to my review of I Hunt Killers for all of my thoughts. If you are every looking for a great mystery novel, this is the one to get.

borderswish

Other Favorites

fav2012-1

blackdotAnna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Published August 30th 2011 by Tor Teen

For most of the year, Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake was my favorite until it was edged out. I adore paranormal novels and Anna Dressed in Blood hit all the marks for me. Paranormal is pretty much my favorite genre and the unique plot of Anna Dressed in Blood made the book fascinating. I couldn’t put it down. Unfortunately the sequel, Girl of Nightmares, isn’t quite up to par with the first book and I’m unenthusiastic about finishing the last 1/3 of the book. I often have that problem with sequels. They don’t have the fire of the first book. Anna Dressed in Blood was great and you can click here to see all of my thoughts on the book.

blackdotThe Death Catchers by Jennifer Anne Kogler
Published August 16th 2011 by Walker Childrens

This was the second book I read this year and it stayed the course as one of my favorites the whole time. I have a special place in my heart for Arthurian legend and grim reaper figures in novels. So any books that manage to intertwine both into the story get two huge thumbs up from me. The plot was common, the type where a normal girl finds out she is in fact extraordinary, but it had elements that kept the book interesting. Click for my review of the book for all my thoughts.

blackdotThe False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
Published April 1st 2012 by Scholastic

Again, this had a common plot and you could see the ‘twist’ coming but it had elements that kept it entertaining and I think on the level of young adult fiction rather than middle grade. It’s classic fairy tale and I respect a book that can breathe a bit of new life into old stories. I’m looking forward to the sequal, The Runaway King, coming out March 2013 . Click for my review of this book for all of my thoughts.

A Couple More

fav2012-2

blackdotThe Thirteen Hallows by Michael Scott and Colette Freedman
Published December 6th 2011 by Tor Books

I think this may be the only adult book I’ve read this year. I can remember how jarring it was to read this book after so much YA and how good it felt to find something different, something that didn’t pull it’s punches or present me with a female character who was just a little too stupid. (If there is nothing I can’t stand more in a book, it’s stupid characters. A character can be uninformed, can be naive, but they must make intelligent choices with the information they have or else it ruins the whole book for me.) This book stepped up where other books I had been reading fell flat. It was fast and exciting and just what I needed at the time. Click for my review to see all my thoughts on this book.

blackdotThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
Published September 20th 2011 by Bloomsbury Publishing

There are many great couples throughout history and I’m always pleased when a homosexual relationship is featured in a story. Beyond the LGBT elements of The Song of Achilles, the book is on my favorites list because it is a great retelling of Greek myth from a person who must have had a unique viewpoint on the hero. This was a great retelling of the Trojan War and made the heroes of myth seem very human, often in a horrifying way. Click for my full review of all of my thoughts on this book.

signature patricia1

btt2We’re just going to count this post as the answer for this weeks Booking Through Thursday post too. (snerk)

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 27, 2012, in books, fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I totally want to read I Hunt Killers. Have you read I am not a Serial killer trilogy by Dan Wells? I recommend that one.

  2. I hunt killers seems like a very intriguing book, thanks for bringing it to my attention!

    kind regards,

  3. I haven’t read I Hunt Killers yet, but it’s on my reading list, and I hope to get to it soon. I also loved Anna Dressed in Blood.

  4. Great post…thanks for listing your favorites.

    My favorites are listed below.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Favorite Books of 2012

  5. I’m not familiar with any of your favorites. It’s always hard to come up with just one though.
    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

Leave a Reply

