Wishlist Wednesday #69 (1/2/13)

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it’s entirely up to you), that we can’t wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

borderswish

wanttobeawizardSo You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane
Published July 1st 2003 by Harcourt Children’s Books (first published 1983)

Something stopped Nita’s hand as it ran along the bookshelf. She looked and found that one of the books had a loose thread at the top of its spine. It was one of those So You Want to Be a … books, a series on careers. So You Want to Be a Pilot, and a Scientist … a Writer.

But this one said, So You Want to Be a Wizard.

I don’t believe this, Nina thought. She shut the book and stood there holding it in her hand, confused, amazed, suspicious–and delighted. If it was a joke, it was a great one. If it wasn’t…?

border2

I will freely admit to being a big old dork. I have the dork membership card, the hat, and I know the secret handshake. As such, middle grade fantasy books hold a special place in my heart. I believe I found this book by a website suggestion when I was looking for Diana Wynne Jones books. Imagine my frustration when I couldn’t find the bloody thing in the library. Being a cheap sucker, I refuse to order it from Amazon. That costs money and I like my money to stay right where it is; in the bank. So, I spend my time irritating my local library into buying a new copy. There is something poetic about a 29 year old demanding access to a children’s book. It annoys me that books published in the 80’s are gotten rid of when they fall apart but then are not replaced with a newer copy in a timely manner. I have the same problem with Diana Wynne Jones’ books too.

signature patricia1

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on January 2, 2013, in book meme, Wishlist Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This sounds like a cute book! I also hold a seat in the dork club. I bet we have matching hats. I have a hard time buying books that are over $10 haha. Anyway I hope you get your book soon!
    Brittany @ Spare Time book blog
    My WW: http://sparetimebookblog.blogspot.com/2013/01/wishlist-wednesday-29.html

  2. Looks like a fun read. I love to read middle grade books sometimes, they’re so fun and simple.

    Happy reading.
    My WW

  3. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    This looks like such a cute one!!

  4. Haven’t heard of this book before, hope you get it soon

    Here is my Wishlist Wednesday
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

