My 2013 New Year’s Resolutions

btt2Booking Through Thursday is a weekly book meme that gives us a question to answer every week. This week’s question is: Any reading resolutions for the new year? Reading more? (Reading less?) Reading better books? Bigger books? More series? More relaxing books? And hey, feel free to talk about any other resolutions you might have, too … or why you choose NOT to have any.

Now I’m glad I procrastinated on my New Year’s resolution post until now. Nobody would want to read two posts of the same thing. I will admit that I usually fail at resolutions. Statistics says that by two weeks most people who made New Year’s resolutions have already given up on them. I give up by the first two days. No motivation, ya know? But, I am turning over a new leaf. Hell, I am turning over a new tree. We shall be calling this year the year of “Get Off Your Butt, Patricia.” I shall make a banner and string it across my doorway where I will see it every day and it can guilt me into doing what’s good for me.

blackdotResolution the first; get healthy. Not, lose weight. Just, get healthy. This is where the get off my butt part of “Get Off Your Butt, Patricia” comes into play. I plan to start cooking more of my meals from scratch and eat less frozen meals and fast food. My doctor is constantly bugging me about my blood pressure and cholesterol. She is threatening to put me on medication and that’s the last thing I want. So, it’s time to change the way I eat and to start doing some moderate exercise. If I lose weight, all the better.

A month or so ago, I hit 300 pounds. That would be the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life and I’m not even 30 years old yet. Unacceptable. I’ve already lost 9 pounds since then and I plan to lose more. The goal is to walk. A couple years ago I started the habit of going up into the warehouse during my lunch break and walking around in a big circle. Since I didn’t have to watch where I was going, I could also read while I was doing this. I lost over 25 pounds but had to stop when the weather warmed up and the warehouse grew too hot. I gained every pound back. I’m going to start doing that again this winter and then not get lazy during the spring and summer and walk outside. I might even join a gym when it gets too hot to go outside.

blackdotResolution the second; read more books. I read a measly 30 books in 2012. Way, way below what I wanted to read. I got lazy. I watched movies. I watched TV. I watched paint dry. I didn’t read the books I said I was going to read. No more. The goal for 2013 is at least 50 books, which is about a book a week. I can do that. I used to do that in a single summer, for heaven’s sake. Again, it is time to get off my butt.

blackdotResolution the third; charitable donations. Specifically, charitable donations to animal organizations like local shelters and the Humane Society. Because I like cats and dogs more than I like people and when times get hard it’s the four legged beings in our society who get the shortest stick. People abandon their pets; some people surrender them to the shelters, some people just turn them loose. Morons don’t fix their pets and those animals breed. Shelters are overcrowded. A lot of those animals are euthanized. When you take in an animal you make a vow to that animal to care for it for its life. I could go on but this will turn into a rant and I’m sure nobody wants to hear my thoughts on animal cruelty and the substandard useless laws protecting them.

blackdotResolution the forth; create and stick to a budget. I have a horrible habit of not spending anything for a while and then blowing a couple hundred dollars in a shopping trip. I spent a lot on Halloween decorations back in October simply because I wanted them and then another couple hundred on clothing before that because I made the mistake of taking a friend with me. My spending always gets worse when I’m with people. So, budget. I know I can spend only $40 or $50 on food a week and eat well. It’s when I go to Wal-Mart or Target that things get iffy. I plan to avoid going to other stores for my weekend shopping. I need to plan meals and plan shopping trips and schedule big expenses like clothing or (ugh) new eyeglasses. Then I need to squirrel that extra money into my saving account.

I only made four resolutions and those were the ones I felt were most important. There is other things I need to change, like cleaning my apartment more and making a better effort to make friends with actual physical people, but I wanted to focus more on those four rather than bog myself down with too many things at once. I have some small projects going on, some pillows I need to make and an art thing to finish, but those are a work of an evening. I know everyone is thinking about change and planning the upcoming year. We all have a lot of work to do. I wonder how far I’ll get this year!

signature patricia1

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on January 3, 2013, in about the blogger and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can relate to the get healthy part. I’m at my heaviest now and with the health issues I continue to have post-surgery, I need to lose it. But, the health part is most important to me. I’m making a plan which includes water, walking and nutrition, not necessarily dieting. Good luck with yours!
    2 Kids and Tired Books BTT

  2. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    I haven’t made any formal resolutions this year but I definitely have it in my mind that I need to get healthier as well. I have never excercised regularly in my life and the sad thing is that I have paid $50 a month for the past three years for a gym membership and have gone 3 times 😦 I also need to drink more water, take my vitamins regularly, eat more fruits and veggies, less junk and watch my protien intake. I’m a vegetarian who never gets enough protein. I also need to go back to the doctor to get my cholesterol checked…she threatened me last spring with medication if I didn’t get it under control. I did eat a bit better and lost 20 pounds (still have 15 to go) but I have no idea if my cholesterol is any better.

    OMG…sorry for the tome.

  3. These are terrific resolutions! I asked the Weekend Cooking crowd what there book recommendations were to support “eat healthier” resolutions and was really impressed with the results: http://www.joyweesemoll.com/2012/12/29/weekend-cooking-books-to-support-new-years-resolutions/

Leave a Reply

