My Two Cents on Book Blogger Jealousy.

rant smallI’m seeing a lot of posts about jealousy in the book blogging community. People are complaining that people shouldn’t be making posts that highlight a large amount of ARC’s and book winnings because other book bloggers get jealous and it reflects badly on the poster. It’s considered by most a breach etiquette and a bit rude. I’ve been listening and I have two thoughts on the subject.

Am I jealous when bloggers post about huge book hauls and their towering ARC piles? Yes, of course. We wouldn’t be blogging about it if we didn’t love books and a gorgeous pile of new releases should be making our mouths water. Do I begrudge those bloggers a huge amount of books? Not really. I understand that if a blogger has a huge book haul that it took work for that blogger to amass them. It took effort on their part. They made contact with the publishers and authors. They walked all over the conventions and got those books by hustling their butts. They went out and got those books themselves and that huge book haul is the result of their blood, sweat, and tears.

On the other hand, it annoys me to see those huge piles because at some point that blogger will reach the saturation point. I don’t care how fast you read, there will be a point where you will not be able to handle the amount of books you have. Once you’ve reached the limits of what you can read in a timely manner then you are just using up resources and denying other bloggers the chance to perhaps take on that ARC or new release. You are also abusing the trust of publishers and authors and that reflects poorly on all of us.

So, I say go ahead and go for those huge piles of books but also be aware that when you accept that ARC, freebie, or swag that you are agreeing to read that book in a timely manner and then report your finding on your blog. You need to be aware of your limitation in meeting that obligation. Anything else is just a waste. This is not a video game; you do not get life points for number of books collected. Manage your time, your resources, and we all should be fine.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree with most of what you just said above. I get a fairly low amount of ARCs (maybe 2 per week) and don’t think I could handle reading and reviewing more. It is a bit frustrating to see a blogger receiving about 20 books per week and essentially bragging about it. I don’t know that I’m jealous (unless it’s a book I’ve been coveting), but I do notice it’s status symbol sometimes. However I also notice blogger bullying from time to time, which always stuns me.

  2. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    I agree with a lot of what you’ve said…from what I hear though…publishers love having their books featured in “book haul” posts as it raises interest and visibility…but I do agree that it does sometimes get to the point that one wonders how any reviewer could read that many books. (although there are those few that do amaze by reading and reviewing 5-7 a week) Don’t I wish I had that time. I’m always content with the handful I have because I know I’d never have the time to read more…and I pad my hauls with tons of kindle freebies. No one is out anything…I have that hoarders security that when I’m 80, I’ll still have something to read!

Leave a Reply

