Musing Monday – Feb. 25, 2013

musing mondays logoMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

bookpeeveI has a peeve. A big, giant peeve of the book and plot related nature. I’ve had this peeve for some time and every time a book triggers it I want to throw that book across the room and scream. That peeve is stupid teenage romances. (Although this can extended to romances of any nature but we’ll focus on teenage/young adult romances for the moment.) It’s not the fact that they are teenage romances that bothers me so much; it’s how cliché, annoying, and completely not productive those teenage romances are portrayed. Where every look or touch from the boy sends the girl into hot shivers and her brain just sort of shuts down when the boy is there. That’s not romance; that’s a head injury.

Alyssa about Jeb – “His cologne – a mix of chocolate and lavender – blends with his sweat into a scent as familiar and appealing as cotton candy to a kid at the fair.”

See, to me anything that does not move the story along is an obstacle and thus needs to be overcome and removed so the protagonist can just get on with it already. Romances with ridiculously hot boys that make the girl’s insides go mooshy and make their “nerves spark with fire” are both not realistic but are also unproductive. If the protagonist has to stop to moon over him, then that boy is in the way of forward plot movement and needs to just go away.

What triggers this particular rush of rage, you ask? I finally got 100 pages into Splintered by A.G. Howard and I already want to chop Jeb’s head off. Alyssa is just about to climb into the rabbit hole on her way to Wonderland, the plot is flying along and it looks like the good part is just gearing up, when all of a sudden who should appear to bring everything to a screeching halt? That’s right; Jeb! Dear Jeb who is having a silent freak out over having fallen down the rabbit hole and wants to climb back up to escape. Handsome Jeb who Alyssa then has to dodge in order to crawl through the shrinking tunnel to get to Wonderland. Why she bothers to leave the shrinking potion behind for him I have no idea. He doesn’t know what’s going on, has a bad case of alpha male syndrome, and is now nothing more than baggage. In other words, Jeb is useless and obstructing the forward motion of the plot. Off with his head!

Now Alyssa and Jeb are in a Wonderland that is not only mad but also dark and I can’t help but think our protagonist might be better off without him tagging along. It doesn’t help that I can see a love triangle coming with Jeb and the mysterious winged man in the distance. (Another point lost for mysterious man cliché.) We’ll see how this turns out. Maybe the pair will surprise me. I’m not holding my breath.

One needs a certain levels of madness to deal with Wonderland.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on February 25, 2013, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ha-ha…I can relate. I really hate books where women “lose their mind” and good sense over a guy. Okay, I’m not supposed to feel that way, but it’s how I feel.

    And teenagers who act in stereotypical ways, whose every other word is “whatever,” are also likely to enrage me. lol

    That’s probably why I don’t read much YA….although even in adult novels, there are usually some teenagers acting in a cliched fashion.

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS MEMES POST

  2. Oh yes, I’m with you there! I hate when girls turn to mush around their love interests. My least favorite YA romance cliche though is definitely the love triangle, at least when the girl is annoyingly indecisive about it 🙂

  3. Push – pull romances bother me – they are frustrating and I just want to scream ” make up your mind already!” Lol here’s my MM: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/bookish-rant/

Leave a Reply

